North Dakota University System
A-Z Index
Access. Innovation. Excellence.
Colleges & Universities Academics & Activities State Board of Higher Education North Dakota University System News Reports & Information
Business & Industry
Printer Friendly Page You are here
NDUS Home  |  News  |  Campus Happenings

95 participate in American Legion Boys State at NDSCS

by NDSCS News

Posted on 6/20/2011

Garret Fraser of Walhalla, N.D. was elected Governor of North Dakota Boys State, a gathering of 95 participants last week on the North Dakota State College of Science campus in Wahpeton. Boys State ran from June 12-17.

Sponsored by the American Legion, North Dakota Boys State brings together outstanding young men between their junior and senior years in high school. Selected from schools across North Dakota, these delegates come to the NDSCS campus for a week of activities focusing on government and democracy.

At North Dakota Boys State, delegates participate in hands-on learning activities, including city and county government functions, disaster simulation exercises and the publication of a daily newspaper that is written and edited by delegates.

In addition to this "learning by doing" process, delegates have the opportunity to experience speeches and debates from visiting dignitaries. They also elect a governor, Senate and House of Representatives.

Delegates also elect several other state office-holders including: Christopher Seaver of Rugby, N.D. as Lieutenant Governor, Justin Zahradka of Lawton, N.D. as Secretary of State, Vladimir Kutka of Dickinson, N.D. as Attorney General, Logan Ferry of Manvel, N.D. as Commissioner of Agriculture and Joshua Roesler of Casselton, N.D. as Superintendent of Public Instruction.

NDSCS has been the host of Boys State for sixteen consecutive years.

Frequent visitors to the program include U.S. Senator John Hoeven and Former U.S. Senator Byron Dorgan.

Participants in the sixty-ninth annual American Legion Boys State at NDSCS include:

Adams: Garrett Shorheim

Ashley: Carl Entzie; Talon Peterson

Bismarck: Jeremija Arnold; Gabrel Feijo; Deidrich Harms

Bowman: Conner Swanson

Cando: Travis Blake; Josh Haugen; Mark Lybeck

Carrington: Lane Anderson; Clay Heinley; Peter Henson

Casselton: Joshua Roesler

Dickinson: Daniel Anderson; Mason Frank; Landen Jung; Vladimir Kutka; Mackinley Russ; Luke Schields; Joseph Sickler

Enderlin: Gareth Hanson; Josh Michaelson

Fargo: Cameron Bush; Connor Camrud; Michael Schumacher; Joshua Stenhjem; Adam Weiler

Finley: Eric Halverson; Kyle Mehus; John Storebo

Fordville: Nathan Best; Blake Erickson; Landon Lipsh

Forman: Tyler Mahrer; Steed Nelson; Patrick Orn; Ethan Reinertson; Jason Roth

Grafton: Jacob Lutovsky

Grand Forks: Tyler Beattie; Beau Cummings; Alec Hepper

Gwinner: Michael Witkowski

Hankinson: Dalton Herding

Harwood: Ben Gadberry; Garett Heim; Joseph Ueland

Hatton: Adam Rustvang

Hazen: Jordan Grosz

Horace: Paul Lanctot; Landon Uetz

Hunter: Adam Teegarden

Inkster: Nathan Linstad

Jamestown: Skyler Sand; Taylor Tollefson

Lakota: Brady Eichelberger

Lankin: Keith Beneda

Lawton: Justin Zahradka

Lidgerwood: Jordan Grumbo

Lisbon: Sean Nelson

Mandan: Mitchel Baesler; Chancellor Beasler

Manvel: Logan Ferry

McClusky: Tom Bergren

Minot: Jake Bangen; Marshall Hogue; Daniel Knickerbocker; Zachary Knutson; Abe Moilan; Brett Reynolds; Nicholas Theis; Nicolas Stanislowski

Moorhead: Grant Christianson

New England: Paul Gardner

New Leipzig: Alexander Alt

Northwood: John Woodward

Park River: Jordan Brummond; Brady Gudgel; Isaiah Hylden

Rugby: Christopher Seaver

Sheyenne: Collin Hanson

Starkweather: Ethan Sager

Valley City: Andrew Kawasaki

Walcott: Christian Thompson

Wales: Alan Hiltner

Walhalla: Alek Berg; Chris Danielson; Garret Fraser

Washburn: Evan Eberle; Monty Johnson

West Fargo: Jacob Kroke

Wilton: Connor Thompson

Wyndmere: Jordan Hollingworth; Noah Sanden


Bismarck State CollegeDakota College at BottineauDickinson State UniversityLake Region State CollegeMayville State UniversityMinot State UniversityNorth Dakota State College of ScienceNorth Dakota State UniversityUniversity of North DakotaValley City State UniversityWilliston State College
Contact Us  |   Privacy Policy  |   Disclaimer  |   Accessibility  |   Security Policy