North Dakota University System
A-Z Index
Access. Innovation. Excellence.
Colleges & Universities Academics & Activities State Board of Higher Education North Dakota University System News Reports & Information
Business & Industry
Printer Friendly Page You are here
NDUS Home  |  News  |  Campus Happenings

DSU students stand out at college theater festival

Posted on 1/27/2012

Members of the University Players theater group at Dickinson State University recently competed at the Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival regional conference in Ames, Iowa. Of these students, Jordan Mork and Todd Selle advanced to the semi-final round of the Irene Ryan Scholarship Competition.

Each year, a respondent within the region's theater department attends DSU performances and provides feedback to the university. From this feedback, DSU selects two individuals to compete in the Irene Ryan Scholarship Competition, held at the KCACTF. This year, the region had over 300 Irene Ryan scholarship nominees. Of these nominees, DSU students Todd Selle and Jordan Mork were selected from DSU to compete.

The KCACTF included a week of workshops, technical and design competitions and multiple performances. DSU students who attended the 2012 KCACTF included Nathan Reever Amberg, Layne Brandvik, Betsy Devero, Stephanie Dubin, Samantha Holzer, Alex Jacobs, Leah Jenson, Jesse Kilwein, Deryl Matthew, Jordan Mork, Dinah Ridl, Megan Ries, Timothy Rosin, Todd Selle and Lauren Soderberg. Students were accompanied by faculty advisor of University Players Jarvis Jahner, assistant professor of theater and communication at DSU.

"I am honored that we placed in the top 20 percent of the contestants," said Mork. "I also am humbled that Todd and I advanced to the semi-finals because there were a lot of very talented individuals at this competition."

Mork, is a junior nursing major and a member of University Players. Selle, also a member of University Players, graduated in 2010 with a degree in university studies and is currently pursuing his teacher education degree in mathematics.

Bismarck State CollegeDakota College at BottineauDickinson State UniversityLake Region State CollegeMayville State UniversityMinot State UniversityNorth Dakota State College of ScienceNorth Dakota State UniversityUniversity of North DakotaValley City State UniversityWilliston State College
Contact Us  |   Privacy Policy  |   Disclaimer  |   Accessibility  |   Security Policy