North Dakota University System
A-Z Index
Access. Innovation. Excellence.
Colleges & Universities Academics & Activities State Board of Higher Education North Dakota University System News Reports & Information
Business & Industry
Printer Friendly Page You are here
NDUS Home  |  News  |  Campus Happenings

NDSU students recognized by Minnesota Food Technologists

Posted on 5/2/2018

Cereal and food sciences students Madison Gohl, Katelyn Schmoll, Minwei Xu and Supun Sandaru Fernando were recognized during the Minnesota Section of the Institute of Food Technologists awards dinnerApril 23. Gohl and Schmoll received undergraduate scholarships, Xu received a graduate scholarship and a travel award, and Fernando received a travel award.

Gohl, from White Bear Lake, Minnesota, is an accelerated master's degree student completing a bachelor's degree in food science and a master's degree in cereal science simultaneously. She presented a poster, "Enhancing Pulse Utilization through Flavor Modification," during the event.

Schmoll, from Wausau, Wisconsin, is a food science student pursuing a bachelor's degree.

Gohl and Schmoll are advised by Clifford Hall, professor and food science undergraduate program coordinator in the Department of Plant Sciences.

Xu, from China, is a doctoral student in cereal science. He presented a poster, "Chickpea Germination Improves the Antioxidative Activity of Its Soluble Phenolic Compounds in Oil-in-Water Emulsions." He is advised by Bingcan Chen, assistant professor in cereal and food sciences in the Department of Plant Sciences.

Fernando, from Sri Lanka, is a doctoral student in cereal science. He is advised by Frank Manthey, professor and cereal science graduate program coordinator in the Department of Plant Sciences.

The Minnesota Section of the Institute of Food Technologistsannually awards scholarships to outstanding food science graduate and undergraduate students to encourage and support volunteer service, leadership, academic achievement, professional development and research. The travel award helps graduate students present their work at academic conferences.

The Minnesota Section covers Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, northern Iowa and northwestern Wisconsin. With more than 1,000 members, it is one of the largest regional sections of the national organization.

As a student-focused, land grant, research university, we serve our citizens.

Bismarck State CollegeDakota College at BottineauDickinson State UniversityLake Region State CollegeMayville State UniversityMinot State UniversityNorth Dakota State College of ScienceNorth Dakota State UniversityUniversity of North DakotaValley City State UniversityWilliston State College
Contact Us  |   Privacy Policy  |   Disclaimer  |   Accessibility  |   Security Policy