North Dakota University System
A-Z Index
Access. Innovation. Excellence.
Colleges & Universities Academics & Activities State Board of Higher Education North Dakota University System News Reports & Information
Business & Industry
Printer Friendly Page You are here
NDUS Home  |  News  |  Campus Happenings

UND director of aviation safety earns Hat in the Ring Society achievement award

Posted on 10/19/2012

Dana Siewert
Dana Siewert
Dana Siewert, director of aviation safety at the University of North Dakota John D. Odegard School of Aerospace Sciences, received the Achievement in Aviation Safety Award from the Hat in the Ring Society, an organization of the Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association (AOPA) Foundation.

Siewert spearheads the UND Aerospace Safety Program where safety and wellbeing of its students, faculty, staff, and visitors are placed above all other considerations.

"Safety is not one person, but an organization-wide commitment so I accept this award on behalf of the entire Odegard School," Siewert said.

Siewert is a designated Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) pilot examiner for private through airline transport pilots and flight instructor certificates. He's been on the FAA's designated pilot examiner "Honor Roll" three times.

Siewert has more than 11,000 accident-free flight hours. He holds an airline transport pilot certificate in both single and multiengine aircraft and commercial privileges in single engine seaplanes and helicopters.

About the Hat in the Ring Society
The Hat in the Ring Society is named after leading World War I fighter ace Eddie Rickenbacker's 94th Aero Squadron--Rickenbacker's planes were emblazoned with an Uncle Sam hat-in-the-ring logo. The unit's meet-any-challenge spirit is the foundational value of the organization. Members are asked to make a commitment of $1,000 per year to support Foundation initiatives to teach safety, preserve airports, grow the pilot population, and uphold general aviation's image.

Academy Award winning actor and pilot Morgan Freeman is the organization's honorary Chairman. The group's newly updated program includes four new awards--including the one that Siewert just received--that are given to individuals each year who showcase achievements in general aviation.

Leigh Kelly, student writer
UND Office of University Relations

Bismarck State CollegeDakota College at BottineauDickinson State UniversityLake Region State CollegeMayville State UniversityMinot State UniversityNorth Dakota State College of ScienceNorth Dakota State UniversityUniversity of North DakotaValley City State UniversityWilliston State College
Contact Us  |   Privacy Policy  |   Disclaimer  |   Accessibility  |   Security Policy