North Dakota University System
A-Z Index
Access. Innovation. Excellence.
Colleges & Universities Academics & Activities State Board of Higher Education North Dakota University System News Reports & Information
Business & Industry
Printer Friendly Page You are here
NDUS Home  |  News  |  Campus Happenings

UND Flying Team wins top honors at Regional Safety and Flight Evaluation Conference

Posted on 10/23/2012

The University of North Dakota's Flying Team recently won top honors in the Region V National Intercollegiate Flying Association's (NIFA's) Safety and Flight Evaluation Conference (SAFECON).

UND's winning score of 817 points gave the Flying Team first place in flight and ground events.

"We also received the safety award at SAFECON, which is a reflection on all of UND Aerospace," said Lewis Liang, assistant professor of aviation and the team's faculty advisor.

"The team worked hard and was ready for this air-meet. Taking first place in every event and having every competitor score points for the team gives us a solid foundation to build on for Nationals," Liang said.

The team participates in two competitions annually: a regional qualifying competition and the national competition to determine the national championship.

"We have met out first goal of the season and now it's back to work," said Jamie Marshall, the team's assistant coach and UND check pilot.

The Flying Team has set an unprecedented record by placing in the top two 25 times in the past 29 national SAFECON air-meets, with 16 first-place finishes and nine second place finishes.

Members of the team are volunteering aviation student body members who have made a commitment of time and effort to be a part of the team.

Team members who competed were co-captain Tyler Van Heel, Elk River, Minn.; co-captain Lauren Peterson, Duluth, Minn.; Jacob Alvey, Louisville, Ky.; Jack Foley, Libertyville, Ill.; Paul Hering, Grafton, Wis.; Cameron Jaxheimer, Seattle, Wash.; Jacob Lange, Archbold, Ohio; Brian Lee, New York, N.Y.; Christian Mohan, West Fargo, N.D.; Scott Meyer, Lyons, Ohio; Jacob Smith, Henning, Minn.; Justin Therriault, North Pole, Alaska; and Paul Valenstein, Sheboygan Falls, Wis.

The Flying Team will next compete at the National SAFECON competition held in Dublin, Ohio, on May 6, 2013, hosted by The Ohio State University. Thirty teams from the eleven regions around the country will compete in that National SAFECON event.

SAFECON was hosted by Minnesota State University Mankato in Mankato, and consisted of teams from: the University of Dubuque, St. Cloud State University and UND.

UND First place regional finishes:
Ground Trainer - Scott Meyer
Preflight Inspection - Tyler Van Heel
Simulated Comprehensive Aircraft Navigation - Scott Meyer
Manual Computer Accuracy - Scott Meyer
Aircraft Recognition - Scott Meyer
Navigation - Tyler Van Heel & Paul Hering
Power off Landings - Lauren Peterson
Short Field Landings - Lauren Peterson
Message Drop - Justin Therriault & Jacob Lange


David L. Dodds
Media Relations/Writer & Editor
Office of University Relations
264 Centennial Drive Stop 7144
Grand Forks, ND 58202-7144
701.777.5529| 701.777.4616 fax

Bismarck State CollegeDakota College at BottineauDickinson State UniversityLake Region State CollegeMayville State UniversityMinot State UniversityNorth Dakota State College of ScienceNorth Dakota State UniversityUniversity of North DakotaValley City State UniversityWilliston State College
Contact Us  |   Privacy Policy  |   Disclaimer  |   Accessibility  |   Security Policy