North Dakota University System
A-Z Index
Access. Innovation. Excellence.
Colleges & Universities Academics & Activities State Board of Higher Education North Dakota University System News Reports & Information
Business & Industry
Printer Friendly Page You are here
NDUS Home  |  News  |  Campus Happenings

North Dakota state forester receives Lifetime Achievement Award

Posted on 1/8/2013

North Dakota state forester Larry Kotchman was presented with the Jim Hull Lifetime Achievement Award at the National Association of State Foresters annual meeting in Cheyenne, Wyo.

Kotchman was recognized for more than 40 years in the forestry field as a leading advocate for state and federal forestry programs and policies. Wisconsin state forester Paul DeLong presented the award.

Lifetime achievement awards are presented annually to one or two individuals who have significantly contributed to forestry during an extended period of time. The award is given for efforts toward state and private forestry at the national level.

As a past president for the National Association of State Foresters, chair of the Council of Western State Foresters and experienced state forester, Kotchman focuses his career on furthering public and private forest policy by collaborating with state and federal agencies and organizations. Through the years, he has held a number of roles in the forestry community, including being a member of the State and Private Forestry Redesign Board; chair of the Urban and Community Forestry Committee; and a member of the National Association of State Foresters Foundation board. He also was selected as one of 25 members from across the nation to serve on the Vibrant Cities and Urban Forests: A National Call to Action task force.

The North Dakota Forest Service is organized under the North Dakota Board of Higher Education and has been a part of the higher education system for more than 100 years. The agency is administered by a state forester who reports to the president of NDSU. The NDSU-North Dakota Forest Service supports the land grant mission in public service.

Bismarck State CollegeDakota College at BottineauDickinson State UniversityLake Region State CollegeMayville State UniversityMinot State UniversityNorth Dakota State College of ScienceNorth Dakota State UniversityUniversity of North DakotaValley City State UniversityWilliston State College
Contact Us  |   Privacy Policy  |   Disclaimer  |   Accessibility  |   Security Policy