North Dakota University System
A-Z Index
Access. Innovation. Excellence.
Colleges & Universities Academics & Activities State Board of Higher Education North Dakota University System News Reports & Information
Business & Industry
Printer Friendly Page You are here
NDUS Home  |  News  |  Campus Happenings

UND professor elected to the Education Law Association Board of Directors

Posted on 2/5/2013

Jeffrey C. Sun
Jeffrey C. Sun
University of North Dakota Associate Professor Jeffrey C. Sun has been elected to serve a three-year term on the Education Law Association's Board of Directors.

Sun is an associate professor of Educational Leadership and an affiliated faculty member in the UND School of Law. He received his B.B.A and M.B.A from Loyola Marymount University, his law degree from the Moritz College of Law at The Ohio State University, and his M.Phil., and a Ph.D. from Columbia University. He researches and writes in the area of higher education law, and his publications have included venues such as the Journal of College and University Law, Journal of Personnel Evaluation in Education, American Council on Education and the Teachers College Record.

"We are thrilled Dr. Sun has been chosen to serve this position," said Sherryl Houdek, associate professor and chair of the UND Department of Educational Leadership. "The close relationship that our department has with the Education Law Association shows our commitment to being at the forefront of informing, guiding and solving legal issues in education."

Typically, several UND faculty have held annual memberships with the Education Law Association, but this organization's connection to UND is much more significant. Two former UND faculty members of the Department of Educational Leadership (formerly known as Educational Administration) have notable connections with this organization. Julie Underwood, who taught at UND from 1982 to 1986 and now serves as dean of the University of Wisconsin's School of Education, is a well-noted member of the organization and a national expert of PK-12 education law.

In addition, the late Steven S. Goldberg, who taught at UND from 1986 to 1987 and later held faculty posts at Arcadia University, Rutgers Law School and the University of Pennsylvania, was a national expert of special education law and served previously on the Education Law Association's Board of Directors. Members of the organization established a scholarship endowment in his honor -- the Steven S. Goldberg Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Education Law.

"Having faculty provide professional service on national boards," said Dennis Caine, interim dean of the College of Education and Human Development, "elevates the level of the department, the college and the University. Their voices are being heard nationally and our students continue to learn from the very best faculty in the field."

Education Law Association

Established in 1954, the Education Law Association is a national, nonprofit member association offering unbiased information to its members about current legal issues affecting education and the rights of those involved in education in both public and private K-12 schools, universities, and colleges. The organization's members represent three distinct constituency groups: attorneys, university professors, and school administrators.

Jena Pierce
Director of Alumni Relations and Development
College of Education and Human Development
University of North Dakota

Bismarck State CollegeDakota College at BottineauDickinson State UniversityLake Region State CollegeMayville State UniversityMinot State UniversityNorth Dakota State College of ScienceNorth Dakota State UniversityUniversity of North DakotaValley City State UniversityWilliston State College
Contact Us  |   Privacy Policy  |   Disclaimer  |   Accessibility  |   Security Policy