North Dakota University System
A-Z Index
Access. Innovation. Excellence.
Colleges & Universities Academics & Activities State Board of Higher Education North Dakota University System News Reports & Information
Business & Industry
Printer Friendly Page You are here
NDUS Home  |  News  |  Campus Happenings

NDSCS students excel at North Dakota SkillsUSA Contest

Posted on 6/3/2013

SkillsUSA Results
NDSCS students take first place in 14 state categories

Students from the North Dakota State College of Science won a number of awards at the 40th Annual North Dakota SkillsUSA State Leadership and Skills Conference, which was hosted by NDSCS on the Wahpeton campus this spring.

NDSCS competed against Bismarck State College and Williston State College to take gold in 14 different categories with 38 students placing in the top three. Three students also earned Honorable Mentions. By achieving gold medals at the state level, 18 NDSCS students earned an invitation and qualified to compete in their respective national categories at the 49th Annual National Leadership and Skills Conference in Kansas City, Mo., schedule for June 24-28.

The NDSCS students receiving gold, silver or bronze medals include:

Barney: Kevin Ehlers, Plumbing - 1st Place
Bismarck: Allen Lindholm, Culinary Arts - 3rd Place
Devils Lake: Corey Bieber, Welding Fabrication - 2nd Place; Ethan Wang, Welding - 1st Place
Dickinson: Jordan Dolechek, Diesel Equipment Technology - 3rd Place
Fairmount: Dillon Berend, Architectural Drafting - 3rd Place
Fargo: Matthew Anderson, Collision Repair Technology - 3rd Place; Jacob Doele, Welding Fabrication - 1st Place; Betty Dollinger, Welding Sculpture - 1st Place; Trevor Enger, Welding Fabrication - 1st Place; Brady Snell, Architectural Drafting - 1st Place; Samuel Teal, Welding Fabrication - 2nd Place; Anthony Wiese, Welding Fabrication - 2nd Place
Fortuna: Trevor Binde, Welding - 3rd Place
Grand Forks: Katlyn Haney, Culinary Arts - Honorable Mention
Hague: Aaron Kocher, Automotive Service Technology - 2nd Place
Hope: Darwin Jacobson, Power Equipment Technology - 3rd Place
Jamestown: Grant Christianson, Plumbing - Honorable Mention; Martin Johnson, Diesel Equipment Technology - 2nd Place
Mandan: Thomas Bement, Welding - 2nd Place; Curtis Kraft, Diesel Equipment Technology - 1st Place; Tyler McMurtrey, Motorcycle Service Technology - 2nd Place
Mantador: Robert Lugert, Architectural Drafting - 2nd Place
Surrey: Marcus VanSickle, Motorcycle Service Technology - 1st Place
Minot: Zach Chays, Welding Fabrication - 1st Place
Wahpeton: Nicole Dowhaniuk, Culinary Arts - 1st Place; Brook Williamson, Automotive Refinishing Technology - 2nd Place
Washburn: Cody Thompson, Culinary Arts - 2nd Place
West Fargo: Ryan Thomas, Automotive Refinishing Technology - 3rd Place
Wilton: Chris Berndt, Electrical Construction Wiring - 2nd Place

Frazee: Bryan Hensel, Automotive Service Technology - 1st Place
Savage: Matt Omodt, Collision Repair Technology - 1st Place

Bisbee: Hayden Larson, Plumbing - 2nd Place

Jenison: Andrew Smith, Automotive Refinishing Technology - 1st Place

Rolla: Brendon Mattson, Collision Repair Technology - 2nd Place

Culbertson: Darran Buxbaum, Plumbing - 3rd Place
Sidney: Tyler Wacha, Electrical Construction Wiring - 1st Place

Aberdeen: Matthew Musel, Power Equipment Technology - 1st Place
Huron: Robert Friedrichsen, Precision Machining Technology - 1st Place
Mina: Michael Retzer, Power Equipment Technology - 1st Place
White Lake: Matt Barnhouse, Culinary Arts - Honorable Mention


Bismarck State CollegeDakota College at BottineauDickinson State UniversityLake Region State CollegeMayville State UniversityMinot State UniversityNorth Dakota State College of ScienceNorth Dakota State UniversityUniversity of North DakotaValley City State UniversityWilliston State College
Contact Us  |   Privacy Policy  |   Disclaimer  |   Accessibility  |   Security Policy