North Dakota University System
A-Z Index
Access. Innovation. Excellence.
Colleges & Universities Academics & Activities State Board of Higher Education North Dakota University System News Reports & Information
Business & Industry
Printer Friendly Page You are here
NDUS Home  |  News  |  Campus Happenings

NDSU employees honored by Gov. Dalrymple

Posted on 9/11/2013

Three NDSU employees were among six state workers recognized Sept. 9 with the Governor's Award for Excellence in Public Service. They include Jean Hagen, administrative assistant in aerospace studies; Debra Sorenson, Dining Services coffee barista in Minard Hall; and Michelle Grant, senior accounting specialist in the plant sciences department.

Lt. Gov. Drew Wrigley presented the awards during a luncheon at the capitol in Bismarck, N.D. The event kicked off State Employee Recognition Week.

Hagen was honored in the office support category. "For the past 15 years, the only department I have worked for has been the Air Force ROTC department/aerospace studies," Hagen said, noting her appreciation to Lt. Col. Anthony Nishimura, department chair and Commander of Detachment 610, for nominating her. "It has been a privilege to be associated with NDSU and the active duty Air Force personnel representing the detachment; they are wonderful co-workers and make my job easier with their loyal support."

Sorenson was recognized in the services category. "I feel honored," she said of the award. "I always say that I try to treat people as I'd want to be treated when they come to my coffee shop. I appreciate all the support of students and faculty - I am honored to have been nominated."

Grant, who was recognized in the technical and paraprofessional category, said, "This award really belongs to everyone in my department. My co-workers make my job easy, fun and exciting. It's a team effort in our office and I was just the lucky one who got to accept it."

Other award recipients include Phil Davis, customer service area manager for Job Service North Dakota; Carol Yantzer, customer service senior consultant for Job Service North Dakota and unit supervisor in the Bismarck office; and James Weigel, maintenance supervisor with Facility Management, a division of the Office of Management and Budget.

"North Dakota's state employees are the best in the nation, and these six individuals represent the outstanding work that is performed by state employees every day across our state," said Gov. Jack Dalrymple in a news release. "We applaud them for their exemplary service and faithful dedication to North Dakota and its citizens."

Recipients were nominated by their peers and selected by a committee of judges. They were rated on overall job performance, contributions to their department, commitment to customer service, working relationship with fellow workers and involvement in the community.

Bismarck State CollegeDakota College at BottineauDickinson State UniversityLake Region State CollegeMayville State UniversityMinot State UniversityNorth Dakota State College of ScienceNorth Dakota State UniversityUniversity of North DakotaValley City State UniversityWilliston State College
Contact Us  |   Privacy Policy  |   Disclaimer  |   Accessibility  |   Security Policy