North Dakota University System
A-Z Index
Access. Innovation. Excellence.
Colleges & Universities Academics & Activities State Board of Higher Education North Dakota University System News Reports & Information
Business & Industry
Printer Friendly Page You are here
NDUS Home  |  News

Students Named to the 2017 All-North Dakota Academic Team

Posted on 3/8/2017

BISMARCK, N.D. - Twelve North Dakota community college students have been named to the 2017 All-North Dakota Academic Team, which recognizes the academic achievements of community college students. The students were honored at a dinner and awards ceremony on Tuesday, March 7, at Bismarck State College. Monsignor Shea, president of the University of Mary, was the keynote speaker for this year's program.

Members of the 2017 All-North Dakota Academic Team, their hometowns and the colleges they attend are as follows:

Robyn Duttenhefner, Menoken, Bismarck State College
Ashton Wiederholt, Mobridge (S.D.), Bismarck State College
Karrie Green, Fort Totten, Cankdeska Cikana Community College
Ronald Walking Eagle Jr., Fort Totten, Cankdeska Cikana Community College
Megan Suhr, Ray, Dakota College at Bottineau
Morgan Kersten, Kramer, Dakota College at Bottineau
Paige Prekker, Elko New Market (Minn.), Lake Region State College
Hannah Swartz, Park River, Lake Region State College
Leah Barnes, Richfield (Minn.), North Dakota State College of Science
Elizabeth Brown, Wahpeton, North Dakota State College of Science
Taylor Nelson, Ray, Williston State College
Mikayla Whiteley, Watford City, Williston State College

"These students are outstanding examples of academic achievement and community involvement," said North Dakota University System Chancellor Mark Hagerott. "Being named to the All-North Dakota Academic Team is a significant accomplishment, one that reflects positively on both the students and their colleges. This is another example of how students who attend North Dakota's community colleges are well prepared to meet the evolving demands of the workforce or continue on for additional education."

In North Dakota, the community college awards are co-sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society and the North Dakota University System College Technical Education Council. The academic team recognition program is active in 37 states. Students named to the state team also are nominated for the All-USA Academic Team.

Nominations are based on outstanding academic performance and service to the college and community. Each member of the North Dakota team receives a certificate of congratulations from Governor Doug Burgum, an award certificate, a medallion and a monetary award. Team members are also eligible for scholarships from Dickinson State University, Mayville State University, Minot State University, Valley City State University, North Dakota State University and the University of North Dakota. The University of Mary and University of Jamestown also offer awards to All-North Dakota Academic Team members.

Bismarck State CollegeDakota College at BottineauDickinson State UniversityLake Region State CollegeMayville State UniversityMinot State UniversityNorth Dakota State College of ScienceNorth Dakota State UniversityUniversity of North DakotaValley City State UniversityWilliston State College
Contact Us  |   Privacy Policy  |   Disclaimer  |   Accessibility  |   Security Policy