North Dakota University System
A-Z Index
Access. Innovation. Excellence.
Colleges & Universities Academics & Activities State Board of Higher Education North Dakota University System News Reports & Information
Business & Industry
North Dakota University System
Printer Friendly Page You are here
NDUS Home  |  North Dakota University System  |  Adult Learners Council

Adult Learners Council

The Adult Learners Council is committed to developing, implementing and sharing adult education best practices to make post-secondary education accessible and affordable to all North Dakotans. The council works to increase public and policymaker awareness of relationship between education and economic viability and to improve collaboration among public, private and tribal colleges.

The council is made up of individuals representing education, business, veterans groups, government, military, tribal colleges, vocational rehabilitation, workforce training and the private sector. The council is chaired by NDUS chancellor William Goetz, 701-328-2963.

Non-Traditional No More

North Dakota is one of five states participating in a Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education initiative titled Non-Traditional No More. The initiative is focused on helping adults, particularly those who have earned 70 percent or more of a degree, to return to their studies.

Colleges, universities and adult learners often are challenged by issues of data access, academic policies, student services, communication, finances and financial aid protocols. Participation in the initiative will help University System campuses develop practices to help adult learners seamlessly reenter the colleges or universities of their choice and successfully complete their programs of study.

Adult Learners Council Members
Al Anderson Commissioner N.D. Department of Commerce
Leann Bertsch Director N.D. Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation
Shelley Blome Financial aid director North Dakota State College of Science
Chris Boerboom Director NDSU Extension Service
Lee Bushaw Education services officer N.D. National Guard
Maren Daley Director Job Service North Dakota
Jim Davis President Turtle Mountain Community College
Valerie Fischer State director Adult Education & Family Literacy
Ray Hintz Supervisor of IT N.D. Career & Technical Education
Carla Hixon Associate vice president Bismarck State College
Nancy McKenzie Director Vocational Rehabilitation
Elaine Metcalfe Director TRIO
Douglas Munski Professor University of North Dakota
Andy Peterson President N.D. Chamber of Commerce
Deanette Piesik Director Workforce Training-Northwest Region
John Richman President North Dakota State College of Science
Josh Riedy Associate vice president University of North Dakota
Ken Story President N.D. Student Association
Lonnie Wangen Commissioner N.D. Veterans Affairs

Adult Learners Council Executive Summary - Jan. 28, 2010  (document)
File Size: 64.5 kb
Adult Learners Council Vision, Mission, Values, Goals (2009)  (document)
File Size: 58.27 kb

Adult Learners Council Schedule, September 20 Meeting  (document)
File Size: 49.74 kb
Bismarck State CollegeDakota College at BottineauDickinson State UniversityLake Region State CollegeMayville State UniversityMinot State UniversityNorth Dakota State College of ScienceNorth Dakota State UniversityUniversity of North DakotaValley City State UniversityWilliston State College
Contact Us  |   Privacy Policy  |   Disclaimer  |   Accessibility  |   Security Policy