Thirteen students honored by PTK

Thirteen students honored by PTK

Thirteen North Dakota community college students have been named to the 2019 All-North Dakota Academic Team, which recognizes the academic achievements of community college students. The students were honored at a dinner and awards ceremony on March 19, at Dakota College at Bottineau.

Members of the 2019 All-North Dakota Academic Team and the colleges they attend are as follows:

Nicolas Rohrich, Mandan, Bismarck State College

Andrew Schafer, Flasher, Bismarck State College

Carmencita Leaf, St. Michael, Cankdeska Cikana Community College

Alex Abrahamson, St. John, Dakota College at Bottineau

Haley Lorenz, Lawton, Lake Region State College

Maara Nelson, Carrington, Lake Region State College

Rosa Quiroz, Devils Lake, Lake Region State College

Carmen Albrecht, Moorhead, North Dakota State College of Science

Serena Langen, Wahpeton, North Dakota State College of Science

Joncy Mastel, Wahpeton, North Dakota State College of Science

Amanda Mittlestadt, Glendive, North Dakota State College of Science

Anthony Campbell, Williston, Williston State College

Shali Sheridan, Williston, Williston State College

“Being named to the All-North Dakota Academic Team is a significant accomplishment, one that reflects positively on both the students and their colleges,” said North Dakota University System Chancellor Mark Hagerott. “These students are outstanding examples of academic achievement and community involvement. This is another example of how students who attend North Dakota’s community colleges are well prepared to meet the evolving demands of the workforce or continue on for additional education.”

In North Dakota, the community college awards are co-sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society and the North Dakota University System College Technical Education Council. The academic team recognition program is active in 37 states. Students named to the state team also are nominated for the All-USA Academic Team.

Nominations are based on outstanding academic performance and service to the college and community. Each member of the North Dakota team receives a certificate of congratulations from Gov. Doug Burgum, an award certificate, a medallion and a monetary award. Team members are also eligible for scholarships from Dickinson State University, Mayville State University, Minot State University, Valley City State University, North Dakota State University and the University of North Dakota. The University of Mary also offer awards to All-North Dakota Academic Team members.