

State Capitol – 600 E Boulevard Ave – Dept. 215 Bismarck ND 58505-0230

Phone: 701.328.2960 Fax: 701.328.2961

E-mail: ndus.office@ndus.edu Web: ndus.edu

North Dakota State Board of Higher Education Audit Committee

January 22, 2020, Meeting Minutes

The State Board of Higher Education Audit Committee met Wednesday, January 22, 2020, at 11:00 a.m. CT., via conference call originating from the State Capitol, 10th Floor Conference room, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, ND, 58505.

Committee Chair Neset called the meeting to order at 11:00 a.m. CT.

SBHE Audit Committee members participating:

Ms. Kathleen Neset

Mr. Tim Mihalick

Mr. Don Morton

NDUS staff participating:

Ms. Tammy Dolan, Vice Chan for Admin/CFO

Ms. Robin Putnam, Director of Financial Reporting

Ms. Dina Cashman, Senior Internal Auditor

Ms. Laura Schratt, Chief Audit Executive

Ms. Karol Riedman, Chief Compliance Officer

Ms. Patty Schock, Accounting Specialist

Ms. Terry Meyer, Chief of Staff

Ms. Kristie Hetzler, Executive Assistant to the State Board of Higher Education

Others participating:

Mr. Brent Winiger, MiSU

Ms. Lisa Mock, DCB

Ms. Becky Collins, BSC

Mr. Dennis Gladden, NDSCS

Mr. Chris Pieske, AG Office

Mr. Eric Olson, AG Office

Ms. Robin Hoffman, State Auditor's Office

1. Agenda

Morton moved, Mihalick seconded, to approve the agenda.

Mihalick, Morton, and Neset voted yes.

2. Meeting Minutes

Mihalick moved, Morton seconded, to approve the November 20, 2019, meeting minutes.

Morton, Mihalick, and Neset voted yes.

3. **Executive Session** (began 3:33 p.m. CT)

Mihalick moved, Morton seconded, to enter Executive Session at 3:30 p.m. CT, to consider (1) the State Auditor's draft annual financial audit report of NDUS Governance Communication, for the period ending June 30, 2019, and (2) any response from the system office to the draft report

and associated recommendations. The executive session shall be limited to members of the Committee, the Chancellor and staff, Board counsel, representatives of the State Auditor's office, and invited campus officials.

The legal authority for closing this portion of the meeting is North Dakota Century Code sections 44-04-19.2 and 54-10-26.

Mihalick, Morton, and Neset voted yes.

SBHE Audit Committee members participating:

Ms. Kathleen Neset

Mr. Tim Mihalick

Mr. Don Morton

NDUS staff participating:

Ms. Tammy Dolan, Vice Chan for Admin/CFO

Ms. Robin Putnam, Director of Financial Reporting

Ms. Dina Cashman, Senior Internal Auditor

Ms. Laura Schratt, Chief Audit Executive

Ms. Karol Riedman, Chief Compliance Officer

Ms. Patty Schock, Accounting Specialist

Ms. Terry Meyer, Chief of Staff

Ms. Kristie Hetzler, Executive Assistant to the State Board of Higher Education

Others participating:

Mr. Chris Pieske, AG Office

Mr. Eric Olson, AG Office

Ms. Robin Hoffman, State Auditor's Office

Executive session adjourned at 3:45 p.m. CT.

4. **Reconvene in open meeting** (3:47 p.m. CT)

Morton moved, Mihalick seconded, to accept the annual financial audit report of NDUS Governance Communication and responses, for the period ending June 30, 2019.

Morton, Mihalick, and Neset voted yes.

5. Update on Q3 Internal Audit Plan

Ms. Laura Schratt provided an update on the Q3 internal audit plan. Reporting, monitoring, roles and responsibilities of internal audit are based on policy 306.2, Internal Audit Charter. Chair Neset and Chancellor Hagerott emphasized the importance of the internal audit function and for the campuses to continue to respond and answer to the recommendations in audits. Chair Neset expressed her thanks to the campuses for their continued work.

6. Update on Q4 Continuous Review

Ms. Laura Schratt provided an update on Q4 continuous review.

7. Follow-up on P-card data

Ms. Laura Schratt provided follow-up from the November SBHE Audit Committee meeting regarding data on p-cards.

8. Update on Compliance Program

Ms. Karol Riedman provided an update on the campus compliance champions at the campuses and the NDUS <u>compliance and ethics webpage</u>. Chair Neset thanked the campuses for identifying campus representatives as their compliance liaison for Ms. Riedman.

The meeting adjourned at 11:35 a.m. CT.

Approved March 12, 2020.