

# North Dakota State Board of Higher Education Audit Committee

March 12, 2020, Meeting Minutes

The State Board of Higher Education Audit Committee met Thursday, March 12<sup>th</sup> at 8:15 a.m. CT., via conference call originating from the State Capitol, 10<sup>th</sup> Floor Conference room, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, ND, 58505.

Chair Neset called the meeting to order at 8:15 a.m. CT.

SBHE Audit Committee members participating:

- Ms. Kathleen Neset
- Mr. Tim Mihalick
- Mr. Don Morton (arrived at 8:32)

# NDUS staff participating:

- **Chancellor Hagerott**
- Ms. Robin Putnam, Director of Financial Reporting
- Ms. Dina Cashman, Senior Internal Auditor
- Ms. Laura Schratt, Chief Audit Executive
- Ms. Krista Lambrecht, Senior Internal Auditor
- Ms. Karol Riedman, Chief Compliance Officer
- Ms. Terry Meyer, Chief of Staff
- Ms. Kristie Hetzler, Exec Assist to the SBHE
- Ms. Tammy Dolan, Vice Chancellor (arrived 8:25)
- Mr. David Krebsbach, Director of Finance (arrived 8:25)

# Others participating:

- Mr. Corry Kenner, LRSC
- Ms. Karin Hegstad, NDSU
- Mr. Chris Pieske, AG Office
- Mr. Josh Gallion, State Auditor's Office
- Mr. Don LaFleur, State Auditor's Office
- Ms. Beverly Hurn, State Auditor's Office
- Mr. Brian Hermanson, State Auditor's Office
- Mr. Eric Olson, AG Office

# 1. Agenda

Mihalick moved to approve the agenda.

Mihalick and Neset voted yes.

2. January 22, 2020, Meeting Minutes

Mihalick moved to approve the January 22, 2020, meeting minutes.

Mihalick and Neset voted yes.

The North Dakota University System is governed by the State Board of Higher Education and includes:

### 3. **Executive Session** (began at 8:22)

Mihalick moved to enter Executive Session at 8:20 a.m. CT, to consider (1) the State Auditor's draft NDUS Nonresident Tuition performance audit, dated December 2019 (2) any response from the institutions or system office to the draft report and associated recommendations. The executive session shall be limited to members of the Committee, the Chancellor and staff, Board counsel, representatives of the State Auditor's office, and invited campus officials.

The legal authority for closing this portion of the meeting is North Dakota Century Code sections 44-04-19.2 and 54-10-26.

Mihalick and Neset voted yes.

#### SBHE Audit Committee members participating:

- Ms. Kathleen Neset
- Mr. Tim Mihalick

# NDUS staff participating:

#### Chancellor Hagerott

- Ms. Robin Putnam, Director of Financial Reporting
- Ms. Dina Cashman, Senior Internal Auditor
- Ms. Laura Schratt, Chief Audit Executive
- Ms. Krista Lambrecht, Senior Internal Auditor
- Ms. Karol Riedman, Chief Compliance Officer
- Ms. Terry Meyer, Chief of Staff
- Ms. Kristie Hetzler, Exec Assist to the SBHE
- Ms. Tammy Dolan, Vice Chancellor (arrived 8:25)
- Mr. David Krebsbach, Director of Finance (arrived 8:25)

# Others participating:

- Mr. Corry Kenner, LRSC
- Ms. Karin Hegstad, NDSU
- Mr. Chris Pieske, AG Office
- Mr. Josh Gallion, State Auditor's Office
- Mr. Don LaFleur, State Auditor's Office
- Ms. Beverly Hurn, State Auditor's Office
- Mr. Brian Hermanson, State Auditor's Office
- Mr. Eric Olson, AG Office

Executive session adjourned at 8:28 a.m. CT.

#### 4. Reconvene in open meeting (began at 8:32)

Mihalick moved, Morton seconded, to accept the State Auditor's performance audit and responses from NDUS staff and campuses, as discussed in Executive Session.

Mihalick, Morton, and Neset voted yes.

#### 5. Quality Assessment and Improvement Process (QAIP) Introduction

Ms. Schratt reviewed the Internal Audit Quality Assessment and Improvement Process (<u>QAIP</u>). The committee had no questions or concerns.

6. **Compliance update** Ms. Karol Riedman provided a status update on current compliance matters.

The meeting adjourned at 8:50 a.m. CT.

Approved April 21, 2020.