

North Dakota State Board of Higher Education Research Committee

June 10, 2020, Meeting Minutes

The State Board of Higher Education Research Committee met on Wednesday, June 10th at 3:15 p.m. CT, via conference call, originated from the Capitol, NDUS Office, 600 East Boulevard Ave., Bismarck, ND 58505.

Chair Ryan called the meeting to order at 3:15 p.m. CT.

SBHE Research Committee members participating: Dr. Casey Ryan, Chair

Mr. Don Morton

NDUS staff participating:

Chancellor Mark Hagerott, NDUS Mr. Ryan Jockers, NDUS Ms. Kristie Hetzler, NDUS Ms. Lisa Johnson, NDUS Ms. Karol Riedman, NDUS

Others Participating:

President Armacost, UND President Bresciani, NDSU Dr. John Mihelich, UND Dr. Jane Schuh, NDSU Dr. Molly Secor-Turner, NDSU Dr. David DeMuth, VCSU Dr. Elizabeth Legerski, Council of College Faculties Mr. Eric Olson, AG Office

1. Agenda

Approved by consensus.

2. Research Sub-Committee Meeting Minutes

Morton moved to approve the May 11, 2020 Research Sub-Committee meeting minutes.

Morton and Ryan voted yes.

3. Research Committee Meeting Minutes

Morton moved to approve the May 13, 2020 Research Committee meeting minutes.

Morton and Ryan voted yes.

4. Research Proposal

The committee members had no opposition to endorse the proposed research plan as a fluid document and forward to the full Board for consideration.

5. SBHE Committee Restructure

Chair Ryan explained that the Board recently approved consolidation of the SBHE Governance and SBHE Research Committees through the Boards <u>restructuring of SBHE Committees</u>. The Committee members agreed the committee title is SBHE Research and Governance rather than SBHE Governance and Research Committee.

Morton moved to recommend the committee be titled SBHE Research and Governance Committee.

Morton and Ryan voted yes.

The meeting adjourned at 3:40 p.m. CT.