

State Capitol – 600 E Boulevard Ave – Dept. 215 Bismarck ND 58505-0230

Phone: 701.328.2960 Fax: 701.328.2961

E-mail: ndus.office@ndus.edu Web: ndus.edu

North Dakota State Board of Higher Education

June 28, 2021, Special Audit Committee Meeting Minutes

The State Board of Higher Education Audit Committee met on June 28th at 10:30 a.m. CT, via Teams/conf. call.

Chair Neset called the meeting to order at 10:30 a.m. CT.

SBHE Audit Committee members participating:

Ms. Kathleen Neset

Mr. Nick Hacker

Mr. Tim Mihalick

NDUS staff participating:

Chancellor Hagerott

Ms. Karol Riedman, NDUS

Ms. Terry Meyer, NDUS

Ms. Kristie Hetzler, NDUS

Ms. Tammy Dolan, NDUS

Others participating:

President Van Horn, MaSU

Mr. Steve Benson, MaSU

President Bresciani, NDSU

Ms. Robyn Hoffman, SAO

Mr. Chris Pieske, AG's Office

Mr. Eric Olson, AG's Office

1. Agenda

Mihalick moved, Hacker seconded, to approve the agenda.

Hacker, Mihalick, and Neset voted yes.

2. Executive Session (10:31)

Mihalick moved, Hacker seconded, to enter executive session to consider (1) draft compliance reports of Mayville State University and North Dakota State University as of June 24, 2021, and (2) any response from the institutions/entities to the draft report and associated recommendations. The executive session shall be limited to members of the Committee, the Chancellor and staff, Audit Committee and NDUS counsel, and invited campus officials. The legal authority for closing this portion of the meeting is North Dakota Century Code sections 44-04-18.1(6), 44-04-19.1(2) and 44-04-19.2(1).

Executive session began at 10:33 a.m. CT.

SBHE Audit Committee members participating:

Ms. Kathleen Neset

Mr. Nick Hacker

Mr. Tim Mihalick

NDUS staff participating:

Chancellor Hagerott

Ms. Karol Riedman, NDUS

Ms. Terry Meyer, NDUS

Ms. Kristie Hetzler, NDUS

Ms. Tammy Dolan, NDUS

Others participating:

President Van Horn, MaSU (10:33 – 10:45 a.m. CT)

Mr. Steve Benson, MaSU (10:33 – 10:45 a.m. CT)

President Bresciani, NDSU (10:46 – 11:00 a.m. CT)

Ms. Robyn Hoffman, SAO

Mr. Chris Pieske, AG's Office

Mr. Eric Olson, AG's Office

Hacker moved, Mihalick seconded, to adjourn executive session at 11:00 a.m. CT.

Hacker, Mihalick, and Neset voted yes.

3. Public action and/or statements, if any, regarding executive session.

Committee Chair Neset reconvened open meeting and the committee accepted the State Auditor's operational audits for MaSU and NDSU and all associated responses.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:05 a.m. CT.