

North Dakota State Board of Higher Education

December 8, 2022, Meeting Minutes

The State Board of Higher Education will meet on Thursday, December 8, 2022, at 8:30 a.m., via Teams Live.

SBHE Members participating:

Dr. Casey Ryan, Chair Dr. John Warford Mr. Nick Hacker Mr. Jeffry Volk Mr. Michael Linnell, Staff Adviser

Chancellor present: Dr. Mark Hagerott

Institution Representatives Present:

Dr. Brian Van Horn, President, MaSU Dr. Steve Shirley, President, MiSU Dr. Bernell Hirning, President, WSC Dr. Carmen Simone Dean, DCB Mr. Lloyd Halvorson, VP Academic/Student Affairs, LRSC Dr. Doug Jensen, President, BSC Mr. Steve Easton, J.D., President, DSU Dr. David Cook, President, UND Mr. Andy Armacost, President, UND Dr. Alan LaFave, President, VCSU Dr. Dave Cook, President, NDSU

NDUS Senior Staff Participating: Ms. Lisa Johnson, NDUS Mr. Darin King, CTS Mr. Brad Miller, CTS Ms. Terry Meyer, NDUS Ms. Kristie Hetzler, NDUS Mr. Jerry Rostad, NDUS Mr. David Krebsbach, NDUS Dr. Jen Weber, NDUS Ms. Tammy Dolan, NDUS

Others Participating:

Mr. Chris Pieske, AG's Office

- 1. Agenda and
 - Board Consent (2 9)
- 2. October 27, 2022, Meeting Minutes

SBHE Academic and Student Affairs Committee

- 3. <u>TrainND</u>
- 4. State Authorizations:

Mr. Tim Mihalick (Vice Chair) Ms. Sadie Hanson Ms. Danita Bye Mr. Kevin Black Dr. Lisa Montplaisir, Faculty Adviser

- <u>Columbia College, Minot AFB</u>
- <u>Rasmussen University Fargo ND</u>

SBHE Budget and Finance Committee

- 5. NDUS Retirement Plan <u>Bond, Schoeneck & King to move forward with the RFQ</u> to acquire investment consultant services for NDUS retirement plans and provide the budget and finance committee responses for evaluation.
- 6. UND to seek clarification of 2021 special session law enabling the Merrifield / <u>Twamley</u> <u>Hall</u> renovation project during the 2023 legislative session.
- 7. WSC to increase previously approved fundraising authority for the renovation of WSC's <u>existing baseball and softball fields</u> from \$4,000,000 to \$7,313,939 (a difference of \$3,313,939) to be funded from donations and extend authorization to include construction. Further request authorization to seek legislative approval for the project during the upcoming 2023-24 legislative session.
- 8. Proposed 2023-2024 Room, Board, and Fee Guidelines

SBHE Research and Governance Committee

9. 2023 Meeting Schedule Change to May 22nd and 23rd in Bismarck

Hacker moved, Warford seconded, to approve the agenda and consent agenda, items 2-9, as presented.

Warford, Volk, Bye, Hanson, Mihalick, Hacker, Black, and Ryan voted yes.

10. UND Resolution University Facilities Bond, Series 2021

Bye moved, Warford seconded, to approve <u>UND resolutions authorizing modification of</u> <u>the University Facilities Bond, Series 2021</u> tax-exempt bonds issued by the University of North Dakota Alumni Association & Foundation to finance the construction of an addition to the Pollard Athletic Center.

Bye moved, Warford seconded, to approve UND's Resolution, as presented.

Bye, Hanson, Mihalick, Warford, Volk, Hacker, Black, and Ryan voted yes.

11. Executive Session - Core Technology Services (8:37 a.m. CT)

Bye moved, Warford seconded, to enter executive session to receive a security briefing from Vice Chancellor Darin R. King and to address other matters related to NDUS cybersecurity and other security plans. The executive session shall be limited to voting board members, nonvoting advisors, the chancellor, invited NDUSO and institution staff, and board counsel.

The legal authority for closing this portion of the meeting is N.D.C.C. 44-04-18.4(7) and 44-04-19.2(1).

Hanson, Mihalick, Hacker, Black, Warford, Volk, Bye, and Ryan voted yes.

Present:

All Board members, 10 campus representatives (President Flanigan absent), Chancellor Hagerott, Mr. Darin King, Mr. Brad Miller, Ms. Terry Meyer, Ms. Kristie Hetzler, Mr. Jerry Rostad, Mr. David Krebsbach.

Executive session adjourned at 9:24 a.m. CT.

Reconvened in opening meeting at 9:26 a.m. CT.

SBHE Committee Reports/Updates/Discussion

- 12. SBHE Audit Committee by Mr. Nick Hacker.
 - Internal audit function is still short one internal auditor due to budget constraints. Committee Chair Hacker thanked University of North Dakota for their collaborative effort to fill the vacancy. There was a 3rd round of interviews and another offer made; however, it was declined at the salary negotiations. The internal audit plan will need to be revisited and priorities identified, currently the number of internal audits is not attainable due to staff shortage.
- 13. SBHE Academic and Student Affairs Committee by Dr. John Warford. Committee Chair Warford and the committee will continue to identify programs that are meeting workforce needs and others that are low enrollment so resources can be redirected towards program needs.
- 14. SBHE Research and Governance Committee by Dr. Casey Ryan and Ms. Danita Bye. Co-chair Ryan stated the committee meeting has and will continue to focus on the research initiatives and a request to move forward to legislation. Co-chair Bye stated that the SBHE ad hoc committee was discussed and created, the May retreat/meeting dates were updated to May 22 and 23^{-,} 2023, and they will continue to work on the SBHE priorities (outcomes) from the May 2021 strategic planning session, May of 2022.
- 15. SBHE Budget and Finance Committee by Mr. Tim Mihalick.
- 16. SBHE Ad Hoc Committee by Mr. Nick Hacker.

Chancellor Report

- 17. WICHE Meeting Update by Ms. Danita Bye.
- 18. CTS Annual Report by Mr. Darin King.
- 19. Two-Year Presidential Evaluations by Chancellor Hagerott.
- 20. Governor's 2023-2025 Budget by Chancellor Hagerott and Mr. David Krebsbach.
- 21. Legislative Preparation by Mr. David Krebsbach.
- 22. Total Rewards Taskforce Update by Mr. Jerry Rostad. Covered under Governor's 2023-2025 budget discuss, item 20.
- 23. Programs Completed 2021-2022 by Dr. Jen Weber.
- 24. Programs Enrolled Fall 2022 by Dr. Jen Weber.
- 25. <u>2021-2022 Annual Enrollment Report</u> by Dr. Jen Weber. Items 23 – 25 were discussed under item 13, SBHE Academic and Student Affairs Committee Report

Other Reports:

- 26. NDSA by Ms. Sadie Hanson.
- 27. CCF by Dr. Lisa Montplaisir.
- 28. Staff Senate by Mr. Michael Linnell.
- 29. Public Comment no public comment made.
- 30. Assessment of Meeting and Future Agenda Items
- 31. Meeting adjourned at 10:45 a.m. CT.

Hanson, Warford, Volk, Bye, Mihalick, Hacker, Black, and Ryan voted yes.