

State Capitol – 600 E Boulevard Ave – Dept. 215 Bismarck ND 58505-0230

Phone: 701.328.2960 Fax: 701.328.2961

E-mail: ndus.office@ndus.edu Web: ndus.edu

North Dakota State Board of Higher Education

June 14, 2023, Post-Tenure Ad Hoc Committee Meeting Minutes

The State Board of Higher Education Post-Tenure Ad Hoc Committee met Wednesday, June 14th at 1:30 p.m. CT, via Teams.

Dr. Ryan called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m. CT.

SBHE Members participating:

Dr. Casey Ryan

Mr. Tim Mihalick

Dr. Lisa Montplaisir (Faculty Advisor)

NDUSO Participating:

Chancellor Hagerott, NDUS

Ms. Lisa Johnson, NDUS

Mr. Darin King, CTS

Ms. Jane Grinde, NDUS

Ms. Claire Gunwall, NDUS

Ms. Terry Meyer, NDUS

Mr. Jerry Rostad, NDUS

Mr. Chris Pieske, NDUS

Institution Representatives Present:

Dr. Steve Shirley, President, MiSU

Dr. Bernell Hirning, President, WSC

Mr. Chris Wilson, Chief of Staff, NDSU

Dr. Doug Jensen, President, BSC

Dr. Alan LaFave, President, VCSU

Dr. Carmen Simone, Dean, DCB

Dr. Doug Darling, President, LRSC

Dr. Andy Armacost, President, UND

Others Participating:

Ms. Meredith Larson, AG's Office

1. Agenda

Approved by consensus.

2. Post-Tenure Ad Hoc Committee's Organizational Session:

a. Meeting schedule

The next meeting will be July 12th at 3:30 p.m. CT.

b. Timeline

The committee agreed that the timeline for the ad hoc working group is unknown at this time.

c. Plan

Dr. Ryan stated that the working group was established to gather and review data on post-tenure processes from all NDUS institutions. He explained that during legislative session, there were some preliminary discussions regarding tenure taking place. As Board Chair, he contacted legislators and requested that the Board have sufficient time to gather, review, and present data at their next legislation session. It will be critical to present them with enough information and data to elevate the level of understanding of the tenure/post-tenure review process.

Committee Discussion

The first set of data will include the number of individuals tenured and/or on a tenure track; legislators have requested that the number of terminations within that set be included. The committee noted it could be difficult or not even possible to obtain records regarding personnel/termination information; there may not be a tool in place to filter or query that specific data. Dr. Montplaisir will work with the Council of College Faculty (CCF) representatives from each campus and Ms. Johnson will work with the department representatives, including human resources staff.

Dr. Montplaisir stated she has already begun collecting information from NDUS institutions regarding post-tenure review processes. There are a few campuses that are currently undergoing a review of their individual process and may take additional time to collect. She explained that there will be differences within the individual data sets that the institutions provide due to multiple factors, such as, but not limited to, the size of the institution and their individual faculty structure. There will be a level of complexity to understand the variations in a post-tenure review process, such as, the universities will have additional levels of units, departments, and colleges within the university and two-year institutions have a limited number of faculty/staff that are involved in their review process. Member Ryan stated that the committee will need to be flexible in the review process and may have to shift direction based on the individual institution and their current process.

Ms. Johnson stated she will review baseline numbers of how many individuals have received tenure and/or are currently on a tenure track at the next committee meeting. Member Ryan requested the system office poll all Board members for their input on Dr. Montplaisir's May presentation to the Board, more specifically, their level of understanding of the process of tenure.

Member Ryan stated that the committee will determine a starting point after they have reviewed the first set of data and input from Board members.

The meeting adjourned at 2:30 p.m. CT.

Approved July 12, 2023.