

State Capitol – 600 E Boulevard Ave – Dept. 215 Bismarck ND 58505-0230

Phone: 701.328.2960 Fax: 701.328.2961 E-mail: ndus.office@ndus.edu Web: ndus.edu

## North Dakota State Board of Higher Education

October 20, 2023, Special Meeting Minutes

The State Board of Higher Education met on Friday, October 20, 2023, at 1:00 p.m. CT., via Teams.

Chair Mihalick called the meeting to order at 1:05 p.m. CT.

### SBHE Members participating:

Mr. Tim Mihalick, Chair

Ms. Danita Bye Ms. Sadie Hanson Mr. Kevin Black

Mr. Michael Linnell, Staff Advisor

Dr. John Warford, Vice Chair

Mr. Jeffry Volk Mr. Curtis Biller Dr. Casey Ryan

Dr. Lisa Montplaisir, Faculty Advisor

## Chancellor present: Dr. Mark Hagerott

# Institution Representatives Present:

Dr. David Cook, President, NDSU

Mr. Kevin Harmon, MiSU

Dr. Bernell Hirning, President, WSC

Dr. Carmen Simone, Dean, DCB

Dr. Doug Darling, President, LRSC

Dr. Brian VanHorn, President, MaSU

Dr. Rod Flanigan, President, NDSCS

Dr. Doug Jensen, President, BSC

Mr. Steve Easton, J.D., President, DSU

Dr. Andy Armacost, President, UND

Dr. Alan LaFave, President, VCSU

Dr. Bernell Hirning, President, WSC

#### NDUS Senior Staff Participating:

Ms. Lisa Johnson, NDUS

Mr. Darin King, CTS

Mr. Mark Gorenflo, NDUS

Mr. Jerry Rostad, NDUS

Mr. Chris Pieske, NDUS

Mr. David Krebsbach, NDUS

Ms. Jane Grinde, NDUS

Dr. Jen Weber, NDUS

### Others Participating:

Ms. Meredith Larson, Assistant Attorney General

Ms. Rachel Sinness, Assistant Attorney General

Black moved, Biller seconded, to approve the agenda, as presented.

Warford, Black, Hanson, Volk, Biller, and Mihalick voted yes. Ryan and Bye inaudible.

### 1. SBHE Legislative Priorities for October 2023 North Dakota Legislature Special Session

The Board members discussed the upcoming special legislative session, scheduled for Monday October 23<sup>rd</sup>.

Black moved, Warford seconded, to a resolution of support for the HB 1241, known as the Schreiber-Beck Innovation Workforce bill, in the full amount of \$24,000,000 to seed higher education's efforts to adapt and create programs that respond to statewide, high-demand workforce needs.

Warford, Black, Ryan, Bye, Hanson, Volk, Biller, and Mihalick voted yes.

### 2. **Executive Session** – Cybersecurity 1:20 p.m. CT.

Warford moved, Ryan seconded, to Enter Executive Session to discuss (1) Information related to cybersecurity defenses, or threats, attacks, attempted attacks, and vulnerabilities of cyber system operations relating directly to the physical or electronic security of NDUS facilities, or any critical infrastructure owned, leased to, or in the possession of a public entity, and (2) limit executive session to voting board members, non-voting/ex officio members, the Chancellor, selected NDUS staff, and board counsel.

The legal authority for closing this portion of the meeting is N.D.C.C. 44-04-24 and N.D.C.C. 44-04-19.2.

Executive session began at 1:25 p.m. CT.

## SBHE Members participating:

Mr. Tim Mihalick, Chair

Ms. Danita Bye Ms. Sadie Hanson Mr. Kevin Black

Mr. Michael Linnell, Staff Advisor

Dr. John Warford, Vice Chair

Mr. Jeffry Volk Mr. Curtis Biller Dr. Casey Ryan

Dr. Lisa Montplaisir, Faculty Advisor

#### Present:

Chancellor Hagerott, NDUSO

Ms. Lisa Johnson, NDUSO

Mr. Darin King, CTS

Mr. Corey Quirk, CTS

Mr. Mark Gorenflo, NDUSO

Mr. Jerry Rostad, NDUSO

Mr. David Krebsbach, NDUSO

Ms. Bethany Kadramas, NDUSO

Ms. Kristie Hetzler, NDUSO

Dr. David Cook, President, NDSU

Mr. Kevin Harmon, MiSU

Dr. Bernell Hirning, President, WSC

Dr. Brian Van Horn, President, MaSU

Dr. Carmen Simone, Dean, DCB

Dr. Doug Darling, President, LRSC

Dr. Rod Flanigan, President, NDSCS

Dr. Doug Jensen, President, BSC

Mr. Steve Easton, J.D., President, DSU

Dr. Andy Armacost, President, UND

Dr. Alan LaFave, President, VCSU

Ms. Meredith Larson, Assistant Attorney General

Ms. Rachel Sinness, Assistant Attorney General

Executive Session adjourned at 2:10 p.m. CT.

Open meeting reconvened at 2:13 p.m. CT.

# 3. Motion to adjourn

Biller moved, Black seconded, to adjourn the special meeting at 2:15 p.m. CT.

Approved October 26, 2023.