

Envision 2035 Summit Meeting Minutes

November 1, 2023, Bavendick Stateroom, NECE Building, BSC Campus

SBHE Members participating:

Mr. Tim Mihalick, Chair

Ms. Danita Bye

Ms. Sadie Hanson

Mr. Kevin Black

Mr. Michael Linnell, Staff Advisor

Dr. John Warford, Vice Chair

Mr. Jeffry Volk

Mr. Curtis Biller

Dr. Casey Ryan

Dr. Lisa Montplaisir, Faculty Advisor

Chancellor present: Dr. Mark Hagerott

Institution Representatives Present:

Mr. Bruce Bollinger, Vice President, NDSU

Mr. Steve Shirley, MiSU

Dr. Carmen Simone, Dean, DCB

Dr. Doug Darling, President, LRSC

Dr. Brian Van Horn, President, MaSU

Dr. Rod Flanigan, President, NDSCS

Dr. Doug Jensen, President, BSC

Mr. Steve Easton, J.D., President, DSU

Dr. Andy Armacost, President, UND

Dr. Alan LaFave, President, VCSU

Dr. Bernell Hirning, President, WSC

NDUS Senior Staff Participating:

Ms. Lisa Johnson, NDUS

Mr. Darin King, CTS

Mr. Mark Gorenflo, NDUS

Mr. Jerry Rostad, NDUS

Mr. Chris Pieske, NDUS

Mr. David Krebsbach, NDUS

Dr. Jen Weber, NDUS

Others Participating:

Governor Doug Burgum

Ms. Andrea Bowman, NDSU

Ms. Katie Tyler, NDSU

SBHE Chair, Tim Mihalick, made opening remarks and invited Honorable Doug J. Burgum, Governor of North Dakota to provide his perspectives on Envision 2035.

Nine Study Topic Report Outs (approx. 20 minutes for each):

- Programs of the future: AgPrograms of the future: Energy
- Student of the future
- Teacher of the future
- Values of the future
- Programs of the future: DigitizationPrograms of the future: Healthcare
- Infrastructure of the future
- Human Capital/NDUS workforce of the future

Lunch

Exploring the Intersections Between Study Group Findings A facilitated discussion led by Andrea Bowman, NDSU Extension Leadership and Civic Engagement Program Coordinator, and Katie Tyler, NDSU Extension Program Director and Specialist, Rural Leadership North Dakota.

Five breakout groups were formed and remote connections were provided for individuals that were not present in the Bavendick Stateroom. These breakout groups individually identified common themes and intersections among the study topics and reported out their findings to the entire group.

Tim Mihalick, SBHE Chair, and Dr. Mark Hagerott, NDUS Chancellor, concluded the summit with their summary thoughts and with thanks for all participants.

No action items were considered, and no votes were taken during the summit.

At 3:30 p.m. CT, Chair Mihalick adjourned the Envision 2035 Summit.

Approved December 7, 2023.