

State Capitol – 600 E Boulevard Ave – Dept. 215 Bismarck ND 58505-0230

Phone: 701.328.2960 Fax: 701.328.2961

E-mail: ndus.office@ndus.edu Web: ndus.edu

# North Dakota State Board of Higher Education November 15, 2023, Research and Governance Committee Meeting Minutes

The State Board of Higher Education Research and Governance Committee met on Wednesday, November 15<sup>th</sup> at 3:15 p.m. CT, via Teams.

Committee Co-Chair Ryan called the meeting to order at 3:15 p.m. CT.

## SBHE Committee members participating:

Dr. Casey Ryan, Co-Chair

Ms. Danita Bye, Co-Chair

Dr. John Warford, Member

Ms. Sadie Hanson, Student Member

Dr. Lisa Montplaisir, Faculty Advisor

# NDUS staff participating:

Chancellor Hagerott, NDUS

Mr. Jerry Rostad, NDUS

Ms. Dina Cashman, NDUS

Ms. Lisa Johnson, NDUS

Mr. David Krebsbach, NDUS

Mr. Chris Pieske, NDUS

Ms. Jane Grinde, NDUS

Mr. Mark Gorenflo, NDUS

Mr. Darin King, CTS

# Others Participating:

President Shirley, MiSU

Ms. Holly Gruhlke, DSU

President LaFave, VCSU

President Hirning, WSC

President Darling, LRSC

President Cook, Dr. Kristen Fellows, NDSU

President Armacost, Dr. John Mihelich, Dr. Robert Newman, UND

President Van Horn, Mr. Brian Huschle, MaSU

#### Others Present:

Ms. Meredith Larson, Assistant Attorney General

Dr. Delore Zimmerman, Valley Prosperity

## 1. Agenda

And;

2. October 18, 2023, Meeting Minutes

Warford moved, Bye seconded, to approve the agenda and the October 18, 2023, meeting minutes, as presented.

Warford, Bye, Hanson, and Ryan voted yes. Motion passed.

#### 3. Research Initiative Updates/CHIPS

Chancellor Hagerott provided an update on CHIPS/research consortium and on the issues discussed at the Association of Public & Land-Grant Universities (APLU) meeting in Seattle, which focused on AI issues facing APLU members.

#### 4. Economic Diversification Research Grant

Vice Chancellor Johnson presented a revised Economic Diversification Research Grant guidelines; the proposed internal and external advisory committee members; and a draft timeline. These changes incorporate the statutory role of the Bank of North Dakota in the administration of this grant. The committee discussed the significance of keeping the legislators that sponsored the grant informed on a regular basis. Chancellor Hagerott and/or Ms. Johnson will update the grant sponsors.

- a) Revised Guidelines
- b) Revised Internal and External Committee Membership
- c) <u>Timeline</u>

Warford moved, Bye seconded, to recommend approval of the proposed guidelines and committee membership, as presented.

No action is needed for the draft timeline; it is an internal working document.

Hanson, Warford, Ryan, and Bye voted yes. Motion passed.

#### 5. Tik Tok

Vice Chancellor King stated that the campuses that requested an exemption withdrew their request. No further action is needed.

## 6. SBHE Policy 604.2 Chancellor's Evaluation

Vice Chancellor Rostad provided an overview of Policy 604.2. Dr. Ryan, previous Board Chair recommended the process remain as presently functioning to previously established timelines. Member Warford agreed.

Ryan moved, Warford seconded, to recommend approval of 1st reading of Policy 604.2, as presented.

Hanson, Warford, Ryan, and Bye voted yes. Motion passed.

## 7. SBHE Post-Tenure Ad Hoc Committee Update

Co-chair Ryan informed the committee members that the post-tenure committee is still in the process of receiving institutional information and will provide an update as the process moves forward.

# 8. RGC Annual Calendar

The RGC annual calendar notes standing committee items for discussion and/or action.

Committee Co-Chair Bye adjourned the meeting at 4:20 p.m. CT.