

State Capitol – 600 E Boulevard Ave – Dept.215 Bismarck ND 58505-0230

Phone: 701.328.2960 Fax: 701.328.2961 E-mail: ndus.inquiry@ndus.edu Web: ndus.edu

North Dakota State Board of Higher Education

SBHE Post-Tenure Ad Hoc Committee Meeting Minutes

The State Board of Higher Education Post-Tenure Ad Hoc Committee met via Teams on November 29th at 2:30 p.m. CT.

Committee Members

☑ Mr. Casey Ryan, Committee Chair

☑ Mr. Tim Mihalick

☑ Dr. Lisa Montplaisir

Institutions

BSC President Jensen, **DCB** Dean Carmen Simone, **DSU** President Easton, **LRSC** President Darling, **MaSU** President Van Horn, **MiSU** President Shirley, **NDSCS** Ms. Kijia Homes, **NDSU** President Cook, Mr. David Bertolini, **UND** President Armacost, Mr. Eric Link, Ms. Randi Tanglen, **VCSU** President LaFave, **WSC** President Hirning.

System Office

NDUS Chancellor Hagerott, Ms. Claire Gunwall, Mr. Chris Pieske, Mr. Mark Gorenflo, Mr. David Krebsbach, Mr. Jerry Rostad, Mr. Darin King, **Attorney General's Office** Ms. Meredith Larson.

1. Agenda

Mihalick moved, Montplaisir seconded, to approve the agenda, as presented.

Mihalick, Montplaisir, and Ryan voted yes. Motion passed 3 – 0.

- 2. Meeting Minutes
 - a. September 13, 2023
 - b. October 11, 2023

Montplaisir moved, Mihalick seconded, to approve the September 13 and October 11, 2023, meeting minutes, as presented.

Mihalick, Montplaisir, and Ryan voted yes. Motion passed 3 – 0.

- 3. Institution Tenure & Post-tenure Information
 - a. NDSU presented by President Cook and Provost Bertolini.
 - b. UND presented by Provost Link.

NDSU President Cook and UND President Armacost provided an overview of their individual tenure processes and post-tenure reviews. Both presidents emphasized the importance of a robust tenure process for the success of their research institutions. Presidents Cook and Armacost are working with their faculties to

identify process improvements and options to enhance their post tenure review to ensure consistency, accountability, and productivity. The committee agreed that NDSU and UND have robust and comprehensive tenure processes and appreciate their dedication to continuous improvements of those processes. The committee noted that the other nine NDUS institutions may not have the resources or depth to conduct the same robust process; this could be an area in which the research universities could provide some assistance.

4. Future Meetings

Committee Chair Ryan announced there will be a January 2024 meeting and the Council of College Faculty (CCF) will provide their input and NDUS institutions will be asked what changes they could like to see in the SBHE tenure policies.

Committee Chair Ryan adjourned the meeting at 4:00 p.m. CT.