

North Dakota State Board of Higher Education

Special Meeting Minutes December 20, 2024

The State Board of Higher Education met on Friday, December 20, 2024, at 9:00 a.m. via Teams.

Chair Mihalick called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. CT.

Roll Call

SBHE Members
⊠ Mr. Tim Mihalick, Chair
⊠ Mr. Kevin Black
⊠ Mr. Jeffry Volk
⊠ Mr. Max Eriksrud
⊠ Mr. Michael Linnell, Staff Advisor

Ms. Danita Bye, Vice Chair
 Dr. Casey Ryan
 Mr. Curtis Biller
 Mr. DJ Campbell
 Dr. Lisa Montplaisir, Faculty Advisor

Institutions

DCB Dean Simone, LRSC President Darling, Mr. Halvorson MaSU President Van Horn, MiSU President Shirley, NDSCS President Flanigan, VCSU Mr. Larry Brooks, WSC President Hirning.

System Office/Guests

NDUS Chancellor Hagerott, VC Lisa Johnson, Mr. Mark Gorenflo, Ms. Jane Grinde, Ms. Claire Gunwall, Mr. Chris Pieske, Ms. Dina Cashman, Ms. Caitlin Magilke, Ms. Bethany Kadrmas **CTS** VC Tom Danford, Mr. Corey Quirk, **Assistant Attorney General** Ms. Meredith Larson.

Black moved, seconded by consensus to approve the agenda.

Approved by consensus.

1. Executive Session (9:03 a.m. CT.)

Black moved, Campbell seconded to enter Executive Session for discussion of (1) The appointment or removal of the commissioner of higher education, or a president or other faculty head, professor, instructor, teacher, officer, or other employee of an institution under the board's control (2) Negotiating strategy or provide negotiating instructions to the board's attorney regarding a pending claim, litigation, adversarial administrative proceedings, or contracts, including settlement agreements, which are currently being negotiated or for which negotiation is reasonably likely to occur in the immediate future, and (3) Attorney work product which includes any document prepared by an attorney representing a public entity which reflects a mental impression, conclusion, litigation strategy, or legal theory of the attorney or entity, and was exclusively prepared for guidance on the legal strengths, risks, and weaknesses of an action of a public entity and (4) To limit the executive session to voting board members, nonvoting board members, and board counsel. The legal authority for

The North Dakota University System is governed by the State Board of Higher Education and includes:

Bismarck State College • Dakota College at Bottineau • Dickinson State University • Lake Region State College • Mayville State University • Minot State University North Dakota State College of Science • North Dakota State University • University of North Dakota • Valley City State University • Williston State College closing this portion of the meeting is North Dakota Century Code section 15-10-17(1)(d), 44-04-19.1(6), 44-04-19.1(9), 44-04-19.1(11), and 44-04-19.2(1).

Black, Eriksrud, Biller, Campbell, Bye, Volk, and Chair Mihalick voted yes. Ryan absent. Motion passed 7–0.

Executive session began at 9:06 a.m. CT.

Present:	
SBHE Members	
🛛 Mr. Tim Mihalick, Chair	🛛 Ms. Danita Bye, Vice Chair
🛛 Mr. Kevin Black	🗆 Dr. Casey Ryan
🛛 Mr. Jeffry Volk	🛛 Mr. Curtis Biller
🛛 Mr. Max Eriksrud	🛛 Mr. DJ Campbell
🛛 Mr. Michael Linnell, Staff Advisor	🛛 Dr. Lisa Montplaisir, Faculty Advisor

Others:

Mr. Chris Pieske, Ms. Meredith Larson, Ms. Jane Grinde (9:12 a.m. – 9:23 a.m.), Chancellor Hagerott (9:25 a.m. – 10:02 a.m.), Mr. Mark Gorenflo (9:25 a.m. – 10:02 a.m.), and Ms. Bethany Kadrmas.

Executive Session adjourned at 10:02 a.m. CT.

2. Reconvene in open meeting.

Bye moved, Volk seconded to accept Dr. Jensen's separation agreement as presented.

Biller, Bye, Volk, Campbell, Eriksrud, Black, and Chair Mihalick voted yes. Ryan absent. Motion passed 7–0.

3. Motion to Adjourn

Black moved, Volk seconded to adjourn the meeting at 10:06 a.m. CT.

Approved by consensus.

Approved January 30, 2025.