

Dickinson State University Presidential Search Committee

The Dickinson State University Presidential Search Committee met on March 6, 2025, at 9:00 a.m. CT.

Call to Order

Co-Chair Orton called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. CT.

DSU Presidential Search Committee members

Ms. Danita Bye, Co-Chair
Mr. Ty Orton, Co-Chair
Mr. Thadd O'Donnell
Mr. Carl Askins
Dr. Liz Freedman
Mr. Steve Perdue
Ms. McKenzie Springer
Mr. Mark Gorenflo (ex officio)
Dr. Bernell Hirning
Ms. Vaune Johnson
Mr. Chris Meek

NDUS/Guests NDUS Ms. Caitlin Magilke

Executive Session (9:02 a.m. CT.) - Dickinson State University Presidential Seach Committee

Gorenflo moved, Hirning seconded, to enter Executive Session to interview semifinalists for the DSU President position. The executive session shall be limited to members of the committee, invited NDUS office staff, and NDUS legal counsel. The legal authority for closing this portion of the meeting is North Dakota Century Code sections 44-04-18.27, 15-10-17(1)(d), and 44-04-19.2(1).

Gruhlke, Hirning, Johnson, Meek, Perdue, Springer, Bye and Orton voted yes. Motion passed 8-0.

The following were present in the Executive Session from 9:02 a.m. – 12:00 p.m., unless otherwise specified by individual name:

- 🛛 Ms. Danita Bye, Co-Chair
- 🛛 Mr. Ty Orton, Co-Chair
- 🛛 Dr. Holly Gruhlke
- ⊠ Dr. Bernell Hirning
- 🛛 Ms. Vaune Johnson
- 🛛 Mr. Chris Meek
- \boxtimes Mr. Steve Perdue
- 🛛 Ms. McKenzie Springer
- \boxtimes Mr. Mark Gorenflo (ex officio)

Break during Executive Session - 12:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m.

The following were present in the Executive Session from 1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m., unless otherwise specified by individual name: Ms. Danita Bye, Co-Chair Mr. Ty Orton, Co-Chair Dr. Holly Gruhlke Dr. Bernell Hirning Ms. Vaune Johnson Mr. Chris Meek Mr. Steve Perdue Ms. McKenzie Springer Mr. Mark Gorenflo (ex officio)

The Executive Session and Open Meeting adjourned at 2:03 p.m. CT.

Approved March 24, 2025.