

# Dickinson State University Presidential Search Committee

The Dickinson State University Presidential Search Committee met on March 7, 2025, at 10:00 a.m. CT.

## Call to Order

Co-Chair Orton called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m. CT.

#### DSU Presidential Search Committee members

🛛 Ms. Danita Bye, Co-Chair	🗆 Ms. Dallis Mitchell
🛛 Mr. Ty Orton, Co-Chair	🛛 Mr. Thadd O'Donnell
🗆 Mr. Carl Askins	🛛 Mr. Steve Perdue
🛛 Dr. Liz Freedman	🛛 Ms. McKenzie Springer
🛛 Dr. Holly Gruhlke	🛛 Mr. Mark Gorenflo (ex officio)
🛛 Dr. Bernell Hirning	🛛 Chancellor Hagerott (ex officio)
🛛 Ms. Vaune Johnson	
🛛 Mr. Chris Meek	

#### NDUS/Guests

NDUS Ms. Caitlin Magilke, Ms. Sharon Schwartzbauer AG Ms. Rachel Sinness

#### Approval of Agenda

Gruhlke moved, Hirning seconded, to approve the agenda as presented. The agenda was unanimously approved as presented.

## Approval of February 20, 2025, Meeting Minutes

Gruhlke moved, Perdue seconded, to approve the February 20, 2025, meeting minutes as presented.

The February 20, 2025, meeting minutes were unanimously approved as presented.

## Executive Session (10:06 a.m. CT.) - Dickinson State University Presidential Seach Committee

Bye moved, Hirning seconded, to enter Executive Session to discuss the semifinalists, review the application packets, and select the finalists for the DSU President position. The executive session shall be limited to members of the committee, invited NDUS office staff, AGB Search consultants, and NDUS legal counsel. The legal authority for closing this portion of the meeting is North Dakota Century Code sections 44-04-18.27, 15-10-17(1)(d), and 44-04-19.2(1).

Freedman, Gruhlke, Hirning, Johnson, Meek, O'Donnell, Perdue, Springer, Bye and Orton voted yes. Motion passed 10-0.

The following were present in the Executive Session:
☑ Ms. Danita Bye, Co-Chair
☑ Mr. Ty Orton, Co-Chair
☑ Dr. Elizabeth Freedman
☑ Dr. Holly Gruhlke

Dr. Bernell Hirning
Ms. Vaune Johnson
Mr. Chris Meek
Mr. Thadd O'Donnell
Mr. Steve Perdue
Ms. McKenzie Springer
Mr. Mark Gorenflo (ex officio)
Chancellor Hagerott (ex officio)

System Office/Guests

Ms. Caitlin Magilke, Assistant Attorney General – Ms. Rachel Sinness

The Executive Session adjourned, and the open meeting reconvened at 11:43 a.m. CT.

Gruhlke moved, Hirning seconded, to advance the identified selected candidate finalists to be notified by AGB Search who will then be identified as finalists for the position of Dickinson State President upon their acceptance.

Freedman, Gruhlke, Hirning, Johnson, Meek, O'Donnell, Perdue, Springer, Bye and Orton voted yes. Motion passed 10-0.

## **Committee Questions**

Co-chairs Bye and Orton expressed their gratitude to the AGB Search consultants and the search committee members for their work and dedication during this search process.

### Adjourn

Co-chair Orton adjourned the meeting at 11:48 a.m. CT.

Approved March 24, 2025.