

State Capitol – 600 E Boulevard Ave – Dept. 215 Bismarck ND 58505-0230

Phone: 701.328.2960 Fax: 701.328.2961 E-mail: ndus.inquiry@ndus.edu Web: ndus.edu

Dickinson State University Presidential Search Committee

The Dickinson State University Presidential Search Committee met on March 5, 2025, at 9:00 a.m. CT.

Call to Order

Co-Chair Orton called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. CT.

DSU Presidential Search Committee members	
	☐ Ms. Dallis Mitchell
☐ Mr. Carl Askins	
☑ Dr. Liz Freedman	
□ Dr. Holly Gruhlke	
□ Dr. Bernell Hirning	☐ Chancellor Hagerott (ex officio

NDUS/Guests

⋈ Mr. Chris Meek

NDUS Ms. Caitlin Magilke

Executive Session (9:03 a.m. CT.) - Dickinson State University Presidential Seach Committee Gorenflo moved, Hirning seconded, to enter Executive Session to interview semifinalists for the DSU President position. The executive session shall be limited to members of the committee, invited NDUS office staff, and NDUS legal counsel. The legal authority for closing this portion of the meeting is North Dakota Century Code sections 44-04-18.27, 15-10-17(1)(d), and 44-04-19.2(1).

Freedman, Gorenflo, Gruhlke, Hirning, Johnson, Meek, O'Donnell, Perdue, Springer, Bye and Orton voted yes. Motion passed 10-0.

The following were present in the Executive Session from 9:03 a.m. – 11:00 a.m., unless otherwise specified by individual name:

- ⋈ Ms. Danita Bye, Co-Chair
- ☑ Dr. Liz Freedman
- ☑ Dr. Holly Gruhlke
- ☑ Dr. Bernell Hirning
- ⋈ Ms. Vaune Johnson
- ⋈ Mr. Chris Meek
- ☑ Mr. Thadd O'Donnell (9:57 a.m. 11:00 a.m.)
- ⋈ Mr. Steve Perdue
- ⋈ Ms. McKenzie Springer
- ☑ Mr. Mark Gorenflo (ex officio)

Break during Executive Session - 11:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.

The following were present in the Executive Session from 1:00 p.m. – 2:59 p.m., unless otherwise specified by individual name:

- ⋈ Ms. Danita Bye, Co-Chair
- ☑ Mr. Ty Orton, Co-Chair
- ☑ Dr. Liz Freedman
- ☑ Dr. Holly Gruhlke
- □ Dr. Bernell Hirning
- ⋈ Ms. Vaune Johnson
- ☑ Mr. Chris Meek
- ⋈ Mr. Thadd O'Donnell
- ⋈ Mr. Steve Perdue
- ⋈ Ms. McKenzie Springer
- ☑ Mr. Mark Gorenflo (ex officio)

The Executive Session and Open Meeting adjourned at 2:59 p.m. CT.

Approved March 24, 2025.