

State Capitol – 600 E Boulevard Ave – Dept. 215 Bismarck ND 58505-0230

Phone: 701.328.2960 Fax: 701.328.2961 E-mail: ndus.inguiry@ndus.edu Web: ndus.edu

North Dakota State Board of Higher Education April 14, 2025, Special Meeting Minutes

The State Board of Higher Education met on Monday, April 14, 2025, at 10:00 a.m. CT., via Teams.

Chair Mihalick called the special meeting to order at 10:00 a.m. CT.

Roll Call

SBHE Members

Mr. Tim Mihalick, Chair

⋈ Mr. Kevin Black

⋈ Mr. Max Eriksrud

☑ Mr. Michael Linnell, Staff Advisor

⋈ Ms. Danita Bye, Vice Chair

☑ Dr. Casey Ryan

☑ Dr. Lisa Montplaisir, Faculty Advisor

Institutions

BSC Interim President Sanford, **DCB** Dean Simone, **DSU** Acting President Orton, **LRSC** President Darling, **MaSU** President Van Horn, **MiSU** President Shirley, **NDSCS** President Flanigan, **NDSU** Mr. Jace Beehler, **UND** President Armacost, Ms. Karla Stewart, Mr. Eric Link, **VCSU** President LaFave.

System Office/Guests

NDUS Chancellor Hagerott, VC Lisa Johnson, VC Jerry Rostad, VC Tom Danford, Mr. Mark Gorenflo, Ms. Jane Grinde, Mr. Chris Pieske, **Assistant Attorney General** Ms. Meredith Larson.

1. Executive Session (10:00 a.m.) – Appointment of Interim Chancellor and/or other Interim Institution President(s):

Black moved, Ryan seconded, to enter Executive Session to (1) consider the appointment of, and contract terms for, the next Interim Chancellor and/or other Interim President positions of the North Dakota University System; (2) to discuss negotiating strategy and provide negotiating instructions to its counsel and/or negotiators related to the same; and (3) limit the executive session to voting board members, invited NDUSO staff, board counsel. The legal authority for closing this portion of the meeting is North Dakota Century Code sections 15-10-17(1)(b), 15-10-17(1)(d), 44-04-19.1(9), and 44-04-19.2.

Campbell, Bye, Ryan, Black, Biller, Volk, Eriksrud, and Mihalick voted yes. Motion passed 8 - 0.

Present - SBHE Members

⋈ Mr. Tim Mihalick, Chair

⋈ Mr. Kevin Black

⋈ Ms. Danita Bye, Vice Chair

☑ Dr. Casey Ryan

☑ Mr. Jeffry Volk☑ Mr. Max Eriksrud☑ Mr. Michael Linnell, Staff Advisor

☑ Mr. Curtis Biller☑ Mr. DJ Campbell☑ Dr. Lisa Montplaisir, Faculty Advisor

System Office/Guests

NDUS Ms. Jane Grinde and Ms. Kristie Hetzler, **Assistant Attorney General** Ms. Meredith Larson.

Executive session adjourned at 10:45 a.m. CT.

Reconvene in open meeting at 10:48 a.m. CT.

2. SBHE action regarding Interim Chancellor and/or other Interim President positions of the North Dakota University System

Black moved, Ryan seconded, to appoint Mr. Brent Sanford as Interim Chancellor, effective April 30, 2025, and to delegate Board Chair Mihalick to negotiate the contract terms.

Campbell, Bye, Ryan, Black, Biller, Volk, Eriksrud, and Mihalick voted yes. Motion passed 8 - 0.

Black moved, Ryan seconded, to appoint Dr. Dan Leingang as Interim BSC President, effective April 30, 2025, and to delegate Board Chair Mihalick to negotiate the contract terms.

Campbell, Bye, Ryan, Black, Biller, Volk, Eriksrud, and Mihalick voted yes. Motion passed 8 - 0.

3. Motion to Adjourn

Chair Mihalick adjourned the special meeting at 10:51 a.m. CT.

Approved April 30, 2025.