LRSC earns honors at theatre festival

LRSC earns honors at theatre festival

Lake Region State College earned recognitions at the Region 5 Kennedy Centers American College Theatre Festival.

Carla Frechette received a Certificate of Merit for her poster design for Nevermore

Emily Mudget, Maria Rosa-Nieves, and Macie Kraft received a Certificate of Merit for their original music in Nevermore

Vanessa Ball was cast in the ten minute play festival in a play called Uber; she went against 140 other students for only 33 roles

Rebeca Trautman auditioned for and got in the festival Long-Form Improv troupe!

Casey Paradies workshop and intensive on Alternative Performance Art was seen by the chair of the national organization and this intensive/workshop will become a part of the national festival

Two Lake Region State College students have been nominated for an acting scholarship competition. Milton Wiah and Casey Cook were nominated for the Irene Ryan Acting Scholarship competition.  They were both nominated for their performances in Nevermore!

The competition took place January 20-26.

Started in 1969 by Roger L. Stevens, the Kennedy Center’s founding chairman, the Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival (KCACTF) is a national theater program involving 18,000 students from colleges and universities nationwide which has served as a catalyst in improving the quality of college theater in the United States.

Since its inception, KCACTF has given more than 400,000 college theater students the opportunity to have their work critiqued, improve their dramatic skills and receive national recognition for excellence. More than 16 million theatergoers have attended approximately 10,000 festival productions nationwide.