Open Educational Resources


Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning, and research materials that are either in public domain or licensed in a manner that provides everyone with free and perpetual permission to engage in the 5R activities:


Retain – make, own, and control a copy of the resource

Reuse – use your original, revised, or remixed copy of resource publicly

Revise – edit, adapt, and modify your copy of the resource

Remix – combine your original and revised copy of the resource with other existing material to create something new

Redistribute – share copes of your original, revised, or remixed copy of resources with others

The North Dakota University System has compiled the institutions OER repositories for a one-stop shop for faculty and staff to utilize.

Professional Development

Webinar: Creating More Consistency in Cost Savings and ROI Metrics to Build the Case for OER
August 18, 2021 | 1-2 PM CT


Join MHEC and Katie Zaback, of Zaback Consulting, for a discussion on the current progress of a national group of leaders in Open Educational Resources (OER) who are exploring recommendations for reporting cost savings and return on investment of OER for students, institutions, and states. They will discuss what they have learned and provide some initial findings from the research that will help inform the final release in early 2022. They will also provide a framework that organizations can adapt to their own context.
Register Here!

Conference: 2021 Open Education
October 18-22, 2021


The conference, which will be held virtually on Oct 18th – 22nd, is an annual convening for sharing and learning about open educational resources, open pedagogy, and open education initiatives. Rates for this year’s conference are $75 (standard) and $25 (students). Full and partial scholarships are available for anyone for whom cost would be a barrier to attendance. For more #OpenEd21 content, you can check out their news page on the website.
Register Here!

Committee Members
  • Tina Stockdill, Bismarck State College
  • Kayla O’Toole, Dakota College at Bottineau
  • Staci Green, Dickinson State University
  • Teresa Tande, Lake Region State College
  • Melissa Stotts, Lake Region State College
  • Misti Wuori, Mayville State University
  • Doug Tiedman, Minot State University
  • Sybil Priebe, North Dakota State College of Science
  • Patricia Caldwell, North Dakota State College of Science
  • Kim Anvinson, North Dakota State University
  • Stephanie Walker, University of North Dakota
  • Virginia Clinton-Lisell, University of North Dakota
  • Julee Russell, Valley City State University
  • Kirby Lund, Williston State College
  • Kale Stroup, North Dakota Student Association
  • Leah Hamann, United Tribes Technical College
  • Charlene Weis, United Tribes Technical College
  • Phyllis Bratton, University of Jamestown
  • Cheryl Thompson, North Dakota University System Office
  • Lisa Johnson, North Dakota University System Office
  • Claire Gunwall, North Dakota University System Office
For More Information Contact

Claire Gunwall

Director of Academic Affairs and Workforce Innovation

600 E Boulevard Ave, Dept 215

Bismarck, ND 58505-0230