DSU faculty and staff recognized for excellence in teaching and service at annual awards ceremony

DSU faculty and staff recognized for excellence in teaching and service at annual awards ceremony

Dickinson State University (DSU) held its annual faculty and staff award ceremony May 2, 2019. This event, which was first held in 1988, is an opportunity for the University to celebrate the accomplishments and service of faculty and staff.

More than 40 individuals were honored for their years of service to the institution. Individuals received recognition for five, 10, 15 and 20 years of service. Those retiring from the University, including Arley Berg, Dorothy Renner, Brenda Schaeffer, and Ken Pierce, each received a special recognition and rocking chair, provided by the DSU Heritage Foundation. Pierce also was awarded the distinction of Professor Emeritus.

“Faculty and staff are the core of the institution and we are stronger for their service,” said DSU President, Dr. Thomas Mitzel. “We thank them for their all they do for our students and community.”

In addition to recognizing years of service, the ceremony also recognized individuals who achieved excellence in their area.

“Each year the campus has the opportunity to nominate their colleagues for these awards,” said Marie Moe, executive director of University Relations. “The nominees are reviewed by a peer committee comprised of previous award winners.”

This year, the following awards were given:


Distinguished Educator of the Year

Dr. Joshua Steffan

Assistant Professor of Agriculture and Assistant Professor of Biology

Department of Agriculture and Technical Studies and Department of Natural Sciences


Professional Contributions Award

Dr. Jeremy Wohletz

Assistant Professor of Music

Department of Fine and Performing Arts


Excellence in Teaching Award

Ms. Hildee Fike

Instructor of Mathematics

Department of Mathematics and Computer Science


Adjunct Faculty Recognition Award

Ms. Jarri Newton

Adjunct Instructor

Department of Agriculture and Technical Studies


Administrative Staff Service Award

Ms. Mari Kovash

Office Manager

Theodore Roosevelt Honors Leadership Program


Professional Staff Service Awards

Mr. Anthony Willer


Technology Resource and Education Center


Ms. Samantha Wohletz

Professional Advisor

Student Opportunity and Resource Center


Blue Hawk Hero Award

Mr. Tim Kreidt

Athletic Trainer

In recognition of heroic actions that resulted in a life saved at Scott Gymnasium Saturday, Jan. 16, 2019.