Search begins for new NDSU science and mathematics dean

Search begins for new NDSU science and mathematics dean


Interim Provost Ken Grafton has appointed a search committee to find NDSU’s next dean of science and mathematics. The search committee is comprised of faculty, staff, students and alumni from a broad array of disciplines and constituencies the college serves.

Dean Scott Wood, who joined the NDSU faculty in 2012, will be returning to a faculty position in the Department of Geosciences. He will continue to lead the college until a new dean is hired.

“I am grateful for Dean Wood’s service to the college and NDSU. Dean Wood has been a relentless advocate for his programs, students, faculty and staff. I am especially thankful for his willingness to delay his return to the faculty for one year.” Grafton said.

Margaret Fitzgerald, dean of the College of Human Development and Education, is chairing the committee that includes these members:

• John Buncher, physics

• Lizzette Cambron, cellular and molecular biology student

• Grant Henriksen, NDSU alumnus

• Chris Colbert, chemistry and biochemistry

• Dogan Comez, mathematics

• Erin Conwell, psychology

• Stephanie Day, geosciences

• Kendra Greenlee, biological sciences

• Kayla Kottsick, college business manager

• Gang Shen, statistics

• Andriy Voronov, coatings and polymeric materials

“The search committee is charged with finding a leader with the vision, credibility, and experience to advance the college’s and NDSU’s priorities,” Grafton said. “I thank the committee members for their willingness to undertake this important work for the college and the university.”

The targeted timetable for the committee calls for screening of applicants to begin Aug. 1. Campus interviews are expected in October. Information about the search is posted on the Office of the Provost’s webpage.

As a student-focused, land-grant, research university, we serve our citizens.