NDSU student named Summit League Scholar Athlete of the Year

NDSU student named Summit League Scholar Athlete of the Year


North Dakota State men’s cross country and track & field athlete Elliott Stone from Bismarck, North Dakota has been selected as the 2018-19 Summit League Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year across all sports.

The Summit League Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award is the most prestigious individual honor given by the league each season. It is awarded by a vote of the league’s faculty athletics representatives.

Stone is the third Bison male student-athlete to earn the distinction, and the sixth overall including female winners. He joins two-time recipient Brett Winkelman (2008, 2009) and Tim Colwell (2014) as NDSU’s men’s honorees.

On the track, Stone was once again a key contributor to his team’s overall success as the Bison won the Summit League Outdoor Championship and were the runner-up at the Indoor Championship. He placed third in the 10,000-meters at the outdoor event to earn all-league honors and took fifth in the 5,000-meter run. At the indoor championships, he finished fourth in the 3,000 and sixth in the 5,000.

During his final season of competition in cross country, Stone racked up his fourth All-Summit League honor of his career by placing fourth at the 2018 Championship held in Omaha.

As a student, Stone already holds a mechanical engineering degree and is currently pursuing a masters of business administration. He completed his undergraduate degree with a 4.0 cumulative GPA and he carries the same average in graduate school. He was named to the Commissioner’s List of Academic Excellence and selected to the Google Cloud Academic All-America First Team for the second year in a row.

Stone also is a member of the NDSU engineering and computer science team that has competed at NASA’s Robotic Mining Competition, earning a runner-up finish in 2019 for the second year in a row. He also received the NASA Robotic Mining Competition Judge’s IEEE Innovation Award in 2018 and 2019.

Stone has shared his love for robotics with the local community by volunteering with Girl Scout Troops for STEM/Robotics experiences. He has volunteered at numerous local high school and collegiate track meets in Fargo throughout his academic career at NDSU.

NDSU’s Summit League Scholar-Athletes of the Year

2007-08     Brett Winkelman, men’s basketball

2008-09     Brett Winkelman, men’s basketball

2010-11     Whitney Carlson, women’s track & field

2011-12     Amy Anderson, women’s golf

2013-14     Tim Colwell, baseball

2016-17     Morgan Milbrath, women’s track & field

2018-19     Elliott Stone, men’s cross country and track & field