NDSU names Pharmacy Preceptors of the Year

NDSU names Pharmacy Preceptors of the Year

NDSU’s School of Pharmacy has announced awards to pharmacists who help educate students as they pursue their future careers.

Natasha Petry, assistant professor of pharmacy practice in the NDSU School of Pharmacy, was named Faculty Preceptor of the Year. 

Cmdr. Tyler Lannoye, Indian Health Service, Quentin N. Burdick Memorial Hospital, Belcourt, North Dakota, was named Adjunct Preceptor of the Year for 2020. 

Pharmacy students on clinical rotations nominate and choose the award recipients for Preceptor of the Year. 

Petry’s expertise includes diabetes, patient-centered medical home model, pharmacogenomics, ambulatory care and public health. She also serves at the clinical site of Sanford Imagenetics. She earned her bachelor’s degree and doctor of pharmacy degrees from NDSU. 

Lannoye is the chief pharmacist for the Quentin N. Burdick Memorial Hospital Pharmacy. He is a commissioned corps commander with the U.S. Public Health Service. 

Lannoye is a member of the Indian Health Service Committee on Heroin, Opioids and Pain Efforts. He also is active in the North Dakota Pharmacists Association and a member of the North Dakota Board of Pharmacy. He is a graduate of the University of Montana Skaggs School of Pharmacy. 

“All faculty and adjunct preceptors play a vital role in preparing the next generation of pharmacists,” said Charles D. Peterson, dean of the School of Pharmacy and College of Health Professions at NDSU. “The experiences that preceptors provide students are integral to prepare them to become members of the healthcare team.” 

As a student-focused, land grant, research university, we serve our citizens.