NDSCS presidential search committee announced

NDSCS presidential search committee announced

BISMARCK, N.D. – The North Dakota University System has launched a search for the next president of the North Dakota State College of Science.

The new NDSCS president will succeed Dr. John Richman, who will retire from the university on Dec. 17, 2021. The person selected for the presidency will assume office by July 2022.

Co-chairing the NDSCS Presidential Search Committee are Jeffry Volk, State Board of Higher Education member, and Terry Marohl, NDSCS associate professor and transportation department chair.

Other committee members include:

  • Amanda Edwards, NDSCS student
  • Keith Johnson, NDSCS chief financial officer
  • Steve Johnson, NDSCS associate professor and cluster chair for manufacturing technologies
  • Kelly Hubrig, wealth advisor at Bell Investments and NDSCS alumnus
  • Nicholas Kraft, NDSCS HVAC systems lead
  • Don Shilling, chairman of General Equipment and Supplies, Inc.
  • Leslie Shirek, NDSCS academic program outreach specialist
  • Tom Shorma, president of WCCO Belting, Inc.
  • Deb Smith, NDSCS associate professor and department chair for nursing

Ex-officio members of the committee include NDUS Chancellor Mark Hagerott and Lake Region State College President Doug Darling.

The 13-member search committee represents a broad spectrum of NDSCS stakeholders, including students, faculty, staff, alumni, and the business community. Starting the search now ensures the process is aligned with the hiring cycle of campus executives.