Health Insurance

The North Dakota University System (NDUS) is pleased to offer health insurance coverage to NDUS students through United Healthcare insurance company. Domestic students (i.e. American citizens) are not required by the NDUS to carry this coverage, and we know many of you may be covered by your parents’ insurance until age 26. However, the Affordable Care Act does require that you carry some sort of health insurance, and this plan is an option.

DSU Nursing Student

 

The NDUS requires all international students to have health insurance in place and verified (see Policy 505) but in some cases, an international student is able to secure a waiver from the NDUS health insurance plan. To learn more about the waiver criteria and process, please click here.

 

 

Enrollment

 

Domestic Students
Domestic students must enroll on their own at the United Healthcare Website: www.UHCSR.com/NDUS
Premiums must be paid at the time of enrollment. For the 2018-2019 Annual Plan and the 2018 Fall Plan, students must enroll by September 14, 2018.

 

International Students
International students are automatically enrolled by semester in the student health insurance plan by their institution. A student may opt-in to NDUS health insurance coverage prior to automatic enrollment to expedite confirmation of coverage. The premium cost is billed to the international student’s campus connection account. If an international student wants to waive this health insurance coverage, comparable coverage must be in place and verified through the waiver process. Click here to learn more. Waiver application deadline is Wednesday, January 16, 2019.

 

Eligibility
All full-time undergraduate and graduate students, actively taking classes on campus, are eligible to enroll. “Full-time” is defined as:

  1. Undergraduate students enrolled in 12 or more credit hours each semester
  2. Graduate students enrolled in:
    1. 9 credits each fall and spring term, or 
    2. UND student enrolled in 6 credits and a 20-hour per week graduate assistantship each fall and spring term, or 
    3. NDSU student enrolled in 5 credits and a 20-hour per week graduate assistantship each fall and spring term, or
    4. NDSU or UND student whose Certification Enrollment Status, approved by the Graduate School, confirms the student’s full time status
  3. Additionally, eligible students who enroll may insure their dependents as well. Eligible dependents are the student’s legal spouse/domestic partner and dependent children under 26 years of age. The student must be enrolled in order to access an enrollment opportunity for dependents
  4. Students eligible for this insurance plan must be actively attending class in person. Students that are primarily enrolled in online courses, home study programs, or correspondence courses do not fulfill the eligibility requirements.
  5. This list is not exhaustive; each applicant must review the insurance policy information and base eligibility determinations upon that review. If a student is found to be ineligible for the policy, United Healthcare will remove the student from the policy. If you have questions if you are eligible or not, please contact Katie Fitzsimmons at the NDUS Office.
  6. If you have questions about the Spring/Summer 2019 coverage, please refer to your Campus Contacts.

 

Plan Coverage Periods and Premiums
To add a spouse and/or dependent, the rate and coverage periods are the same as the student rate.

 

Domestic Undergraduate Students
Annual (August 16, 2018-August 15, 2019): $3,132.00

Fall (August 16, 2018-December 31, 2018): $1,184.00
Spring/Summer (January 1, 2019-August 15, 2019): $1,948.00

 

Domestic Graduate Students
Annual (August 16, 2018-August 15, 2019): $4350.00

Fall (August 16, 2018-December 31, 2018): $1,645.00
Spring/Summer (January 1, 2019-August 15, 2019): $2,705.00

 

International Students
Annual (August 16, 2018-August 15, 2019): $1978.00

Fall (August 16, 2018 – December 31, 2018): $748.00
Spring/Summer (January 1, 2019-August 15, 2019): $1,230.00


For detailed information visit:
The United Healthcare Website:www.UHCSR.com/NDUS.
United Healthcare’s customer services: 1-877-433-6667 or customerservice@uhcsr.com.

 

Campus Contacts for Student Health Insurance Plan

 

Bismarck State College
Mary Eisenbraun
mary.eisenbraun@bismarckstate.edu
701-224-5481

Karen Erickson
karen.erickson@bismarckstate.edu
701-224-5424

 

Dakota College at Bottineau
Larry Brooks – Domestic
larry.brooks@dakotacollege.edu
701-228-5452

Heidi Hauf – International
heidi.hauf@dakotacollege.edu
701-228-5487

 

Dickinson State University
Gayle Mork
gayle.mork@dickinsonstate.edu
701-483-2531

 

Lake Region State College
Kristi Kienast Hernandez
kristi.hernandez@lrsc.edu
701-662-1692

 

Mayville State University
Andrew Pflipsen
andrew.pflipsen@mayvillestate.edu
701-788-4770

 

Minot State University
Libby Claerbout
libby.claerbout@minotstateu.edu
701-858-4155

 

North Dakota State College of Science
Shari Thompson
shari.thompson@ndscs.edu
701-671-2203

 

North Dakota State University
Sara Terfehr
sara.terfehr@ndsu.edu
701-231-7331

Sara Johnson – International
sara.j.johnson@ndsu.edu
701-231-8230

 

University of North Dakota
Maureen Potucek – Domestic
maureen.potucek@und.edu
701-777-3457

Amy Senger – International
amy.senger@und.edu
701-777-3935

 

Valley City State University
Erica Buchholz
erica.buchholz@vcsu.edu
701-845-7235

 

Williston State College
Kaylyn Bondy
kaylyn.bondy@willistonstate.edu
701-774-4585

 

For general inquiries:
North Dakota University System Office
Katie Fitzsimmons
katie.fitzsimmons@ndus.edu
701-328-4109